Ellsworth MS Newsletter

Here's what's happening in MS!

March 23, 2020


Dear parents,


Google Classroom is an easy place for your child to check in with their teacher. If they are able, have them login and show you what their Google classroom looks like. We miss working with your child and this is a good way for us to stay connected.


SOCIAL STUDIES


6th Grade: I sure miss our class discussions. I will post some things that students can do in World Geography on Google Classroom. The main thing is to practice identifying countries and US states. Students had set goals this winter as to how many they plan to be able to do in the spring. Also, I am working on a way to share the story I began reading to the class before the shutdown. It’s called A Long Walk to Water. It’s a story of a real experience of a refugee from war-torn Sudan. I highly recommend it. Please email me if you have any questions.


7th Grade: I sure miss our class discussions. I will post some things that students can do in World Geography on Google Classroom. The main thing is to practice identifying countries and US states. Students had set goals this winter as to how many they plan to be able to do in the spring. Also, I am working on a way to share the story I began reading to the class before the shutdown. It’s called A Long Walk to Water. It’s a story of a real experience of a refugee from war-torn Sudan. I highly recommend it. Please email me if you have any questions.


MATH


6th Grade: Hi! I’ve been checking to see your student’s progress on iReady! Thanks to those that have and are able to login and begin to practice your math. I have also created a google classroom for you to check daily and I’ll post suggested assignments for you to work on. Please email me if you have questions.


7th Grade: Hi! I’ve been checking to see your student’s progress on iReady! Thanks to those that have and are able to login and begin to practice your math. I have also created a google classroom for you to check daily and I’ll post suggested assignments for you to work on. Please email me if you have questions.


8th Grade: Hi! I’ve been checking to see your student’s progress on iReady! Thanks to those that have and are able to login and begin to practice your math. I have also created a google classroom for you to check daily and I’ll post suggested assignments for you to work on. Please email me if you have questions.


SCIENCE


6th Grade: I will be posting some activities in Science 6 on Google Classroom that students can do to stay up on science topics. The class code is: p2zizgs for those who hadn’t joined yet. Please email me if you have any questions.


7th Grade: Hello everyone! I sure miss teaching science….Please have your students check their school emails on Monday. I have created a google classroom site for them and will be uploading suggested assignments to work on each day. Some of them will require online readings and some will require them to go outside. Please email me if you have any questions.


8th Grade: Hello everyone! I sure miss teaching science….Please have your students check their school emails on Monday. I have created a google classroom site for them and will be uploading suggested assignments to work on each day. Some of them will require online readings and some will require them to go outside. Please email me if you have any questions.


ART


7th Grade:Miss you all… draw a still life using couple books and blocks…. work on the angles making sure they are as Parallel and add shading…. keep drawing the more you do the better you get. Hope to be with you all back in our civilized classroom with chandeliers.


PE


7th/8th Grade: I’m looking forward to resuming PE class soon! Your positive attitudes and enthusiasm is greatly appreciated and missed.


Please continue to be active. Teenagers need an hour of aerobic activity 7 days per week and 20 minutes of muscular endurance/muscular strength activities 3 days per week. In addition to the physiological benefits, daily exercise has many other health related benefits.


If you have time, check out the attached video by Dr. Mike Evans about physical activity. (Click the skip ad prompt that pops up before the video clip.)

23 and 1/2 hours: What is the single best thing we can do for our health?



SINCERELY,


The Middle School Team


8th English: Amanda Terryberry aterryberry@ellsworth.k12.mi.us

6th and 7th English Michele Hinkle mhinkle@ellsworth.k12.mi.us

6th Sci, 6-7th SS: Sue Goslee sgoslee@ellsworth.k12.mi.us

6-8 Math: Erica Stuck estuck@ellsworth.k12.mi.us

7-8th Science: Clayton Faivor cfaivor@ellsworth.k12.mi.us

8th SS: Laurie Yost lyost@ellsworth.k12.mi.us

Art: Kurt Zimmerle kzimmerle@ellsworth.k12.mi.us

Music: Ashley Ford aford@ellsworth.k12.mi.us

PE: Mark Drenth mdrenth@ellsworth.k12.mi.us