Organizing an Annotation Flash Mob

Join a "not-to-worry" /"safe-to-fail" annotatathon,

Let's Get Meta and Annotate an Article about Annotation

Paul Allison of the NYC writing project floated the notion of virtual flash mobs annotating texts in a recent Teachers Teaching Teachers webinar. The first event planned for youth will be Tuesday during the State of the Union address. We wanted to audition a handy digital annotation tool, Hypothes.is, before that event in case you wanted to get your feet on the ground before you bring students to the #sofu. That's why we call it "safe-to-fail". Perhaps a less scary way to say this might be "not to worry".

Annotation Flash Mob/Flash MOOC

Monday, Jan. 11th, 7pm

This is an online event.

The event starts at 7pm ET/6pm CT/5pm MT/4pmPT


You may find the link here on Monday just before we start.

Agenda

7:00-7:10 PM: Intro to hypothes.is

7:10-7:40 PM: Flash annotation of NYT Article

7:40-7:50 PM: Observations and notes

Who Are We?

Just a couple of online dudes who wanted to share annotation as a tool for analyzing text. We both teach and we both use annotation tools for our personal, professional, and pedagogical lives.

Steps to Using Hypothes.is for Annotation

1. Open up your Chrome browser (Hypothes.is works as an extension.)

2. Register to use here.

3. Get the Chrome extension here and install.

4. Sign in to Hypothes.is

5. Play around with any text/website

6. Go here to the Hypothes.is site and learn more about how to use the tool.


TTT#472 Let's organize virtual flash mobs or annotatathons with hypothes.is