The Sun

All about the center of our universe!

Big image

All It's Layers

The Sun has many layers. The layers are the:

Core, Radiative Zone, Convective Zone, Photosphere, Chromospere, and Corona.

They are listed in order from the inside out.

Meet the Layers


The core is found in the center of the sun, this is where nuclear reactions consume hydrogen in order to form helium. It has a very high temperature, more than 15 million degrees Kelvin! The density of the core is 150 g/cm³, which is roughly ten times the density of gold.
Big image

Radiative Zone

The radiative zone is used to transfer energy, in the form of radiation, is transferred by its interaction with surrounding atoms. The temperature here is cooler, allowing some atoms to remain intact.
Big image

Convective Zone

The convective zone is the outermost layer of the solar interior. It extends from the visible surface to 200,000 km below. The temperature here is about 2,000,000 degrees Celsius, which is cool enough for ions such as carbon, nitrogen, and oxygen.
Big image


The photosphere is called the apparent surface of the sun This is because the sun does not have a definite surface like the earth. The temperature of the photosphere is 5,800 degrees Kelvin. Gas here is thin enough for the atoms to absorb/ release energy.
Big image


The temperature of the Chromosphere ranges from 6,000 to 20,000 degrees Celsius. At temperatures like this, hydrogen emits a light that gives a red color. This is why this layer is called the Chromosphere (color-sphere).
Big image


The Corona has a very high temperature but is less dense than the Earth is at sea level. The glow is not as bright than of the photosphere. The Corona is visible during total eclipses.
Big image


A prominence is an arc of gas that erupts from the surface of the Sun. They are held above the Sun's surface by strong magnetic fields. It can last for many months.
Big image