The White Rose

A World War II Resistance Group

The White Rose was a resistance group made up of students from the University of Munich in Germany that took a stand against the Nazis during WWII. They used graffiti and leaflets to bring awareness to the cruelty being done to the Jews from June 1942 until February 1943. During this time they created 6 different brochures and some of them quoted the Bible. They tried to stay unidentified and had a very small group that all knew each other. The leaders of the White Rose were Hans Scholl, his sister Sophie Scholl and Christoph Probst.

Capture and Trial

In January 1943, Hans and Sophie Scholls were distributing flyers to the Munich University, which urged the students to rebel against the Nazis. The way the White Rose would spread their flyers out was to dump them all in piles which would be spread out by the wind (see above). When the White Rose used Graffiti they would often write, "Down with Hitler!" or "Freedom!". Sophie and Hans were at Munich University distributing flyers again in February, when a janitor spotted them and reported them to the Gestapo (German secret state police). When Sophie and Hans lied and told the Gestapo no one was helping them, the Gestapo investigated further and found out that Christoph was also involved. They were arrested, tried and found guilty of treason. That same day they were executed. However, before they were killed, the prison guards had such respect for their courage that they allowed Sophie, Hans and Christoph to meet again one last time before they died. Some other members of the White Rose were also caught and killed. Even at death Sophie, Hans and Christoph remained faithful to the White Rose and before Hans died he shouted out, "Long live freedom!"

The White Rose is the world's most famous WWII German resistance group who fought for freedom even if they had to sacrifice their lives.

People in the White Rose Group:

Hans Scholl, Sophie Scholl, Christoph Probst, Alex Schmorell, Willi Graf, Traute Larfrenz, Katharina Schüddekopf, Lieselotte Berndl, Jürgen Wittenstein, Marie-Luise Jahn, Falk Harnack, Hubert Furtwängler, Wilhelm Geyer, Manfred Eickemeyer, Josef Söhngen, Heinrich Bollinger, Helmut Bauer, Harald Dorhn, Rudi Alt and Wolfgang Jaeger.