Come learn all about this religion!

Muslim Belief

Muslims believe that God sent a number of prophets to mankind to teach them how to live according to His law. Jesus, Moses, Abraham, and Muhammad are respected as prophets of God.

Muslim Holidays

There are three official holidays in Islam: Eid Al-Fitr and Eid Al-Adha. Eid Al-Fitr is celebrated at the end of Ramadan (a month of fasting during daylight hours), and Muslims usually give zakat (charity) on the occasion. Eid Al-Adha is celebrated on the tenth day of Dhu Al-Hijjah and lasts for four days, during which Muslims usually sacrifice a sheep and distribute its meat in 3 parts: among family, friends, and the poor.

The 5 pillars of Islamic Worship

The 5 Pillars of islam 1st episode animated IN ENGLISH.

5 Pillars Of Islam

There are five aspects of Islam which every Muslim must practice

  • Shahada, or Belief - The belief that Allah is the only God
  • Salat, or Prayer - Every Muslim must pray 5 times per day
  • Zakat, or Charity - Give 2.5 percent of what you own to eradicate poverty
  • Sawm, or Fasting - Every Muslim ( unless they are under 12 or have a medical condition) must not eat food from dawn to dusk during the month of Ramadan
  • Hajj, or Pilgrimage - All Muslims must go to the Muslim holy place of Mecca at least once in their life (unless they are impoverished)

Place of Worship

All Muslims worship in a mosque. Many mosques have elaborate domes, minarets, and prayer halls, in varying styles of architecture. The mosque serves as a place where Muslims can come together for salat (meaning "prayer") as well as a center for information, education, and dispute settlement. The imam leads the congregation in prayer.