My Introduction

Tia Durkin

My Life

Hi everybody! My name is Tia and my family and I are currently in transition from Fort Bragg, NC back to the mountains of TN. We have six amazing kids between us, four boys and two girls, ranging in ages 16 to 4...so that picture is a couple years old. I've been here at Ashford for three years so far, and just finished all my classes for my psychology degree, now starting my Early Child Development degree program!

Experience in Child Development

Well, I have never had formal training, or certifications in any type of child development; but I have had positions in the head start programs and I was lucky enough to head a kindergarten program on our reservation back home. Both allowed me to work with kids who were in precarious situations at home and facing different delays developmentally.
I also have volunteered for the last four years with an organization called Free Cakes for Kids, that provides birthday cakes and cupcakes to military families in need.
My greatest experience in this area has obviously been through my children. My oldest daughter was diagnosed four years ago with Autism, and every day we learn something new. I look forward to learning even more in this class. Looking through the book I would have to say the area of issues in development is something I really look forward to learning more about.

ASPIRATIONS

Currently I am a stay at home parent, going to school full time and homeschooling two kids. When I graduate my goal is to be in some sort of social work position, with military families.