Stepping Into 6th Grade

November 18th - November 22nd

Important Dates and Upcoming Tests

11/18/19 - 6th Grade Career Lesson during Social Studies

11/20/19 - Social Studies Egypt Test

11/26/19- Science SEASONS test

ELA

R1B Determine the meaning of unknown words and phrases as they are used in the text including figurative and connotative meanings using context, affixes, or reference materials.


Key terms: simile, metaphor, alliteration, onomatopoeia, hyperbole, idiom, personification


This week students are pulling meaning from movies, music, and figurative language. It has been a shorter week, with the snow day, but we have been busy discussing kindness, figurative language, and even had a storyteller from Georgia!


Next week we will review with an assessment over the meaning of unknown words on Friday!


Reading is such an important tool for all! Please encourage your sixth grade student to read at home each night for at least 30 minutes. Also, make sure your student has earbuds for working on assignments in the classroom!


If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:


Mrs. Clark: kclark@fulton58.org

Mrs. Clark: lclark@fulton58.org

Ms. Hervey: ahervey@fulton58.org

Math

Last Week:

We finished up testing for Unit 2 and the students rocked this unit! As well, we started Unit 3: Unit Rates and Percentages. We started this unit off by talking about the Burj Khalifa: the tallest building in the world and introduced the idea that measurements will be different when using units through fun measuring stations!


This Week:

We will introduce the idea of switching (converting) between different units and will look into how we can use unit rates to solve real-world problems.


Monday: Lesson 4: Converting Units

Tuesday: Lesson 5: Comparing Speeds and Prices

Wednesday: Lesson 6: Interpreting Rates

Thursday: Lesson 7: Equivalent Ratios Have the Same Unit Rate

Friday: Lesson 8: More About Constant Speed


ELO:

I can solve real-world problems using unit rates, ratios, and percentages.


Vocabulary:

unit rate, pace, speed





If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:

Ms. Grant: cgrant@fulton58.org

Ms. Lechiara: glechiara@fulton58.org

Science

Unit:

Seasons


6-8.ESS1.A.2 Develop and use a model of the Earth-Sun systems to explain the cyclical patterns of seasons, which includes Earth’s tilt and directional angle of sunlight on different areas of Earth throughout the year.


This Week: We will continue to explore the reasons of seasons on Earth. Our test will be Nov. 26, the day before we leave for Thanksgiving Break.


If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:

Ms. Hemken: khemken@fulton58.org

Ms. Doering: mdoering@fulton58.org

Social Studies

Unit Checklist


Learning Targets This Unit:

  • Student can describe how the geography of river valleys led to settlement and the beginning of civilization
  • Student can describe the advancement of civilization and its legacy


Vocabulary: River Valley, Fertile Crescent, Silt, Irrigation, Physical Characteristics, Legacy, Advancement, Polytheism, Monotheism, Monarchy, Dynasty, Theocracy


Monday: Career Lesson

Tuesday: Review for Test

Wednesday: Egypt Test

Thursday: Egypt Test

Friday: Reteach and Enrichment


If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:

Mr. Hoskins: jhoskins@fulton58.org,

Mrs. Windmann: ewindmann@fulton58.org