Ms. Klein's Second Grade Newsletter

Monday, January 11, 2016

This week...

This week we'll explore the question "Why is it important to keep trying even if something is difficult to do?" As we read the realistic fiction selection Luke Goes to Bat, we will find out about a boy who learns an important lesson with the help of his grandmother and the legendary baseball player Jackie Robinson. In the informational text, Jackie Robinson, we will learn more about this special American hero.

We are the BOX TOP WINNERS for December and Daniel T. was the overall winner for the school!

Things we will learn...

Target Vocabulary: practice, hurried, position, roared, extra, curb, cheered, final

Phonics Skills: Words with long i (i, igh, ie, y)

Vocabulary Strategy: Antonyms

Comprehension Skill: Sequence of events - tell the order in which things happen

Comprehension Strategy: Visualize - picture what is happening as you read.

Writing Focus: Narrative writing - story paragraph


Math: We will finish our topic on subtracting two digit numbers this week. Please review the steps to solve two digit subtraction problems at home with your student. Regrouping is a skill they will carry with them throughout life.


Social Studies: We are starting our Unit 4: People Long Ago


Writing: We are working on preparing for our district writing assessment. The students are working through the writing process using their favorite toy they received over the winter break.

Upcoming Black Bob Events

Tuesday Jan. 12 D Day


District Math Wings at Arbor Creek

Papa John's Night


Wednesday Jan. 13 E Day

9:15-11:15 Special Chorus to FT


Thursday Jan. 14 A Day

2:00 FT Band Tour


Friday Jan. 15 B Day

Spirit Day: Hat Day!

3:00 BRAG rewards


Sunday Jan. 17 360 Gymnastics Fundraiser 1:00-3:00


Next Week:

Monday Jan. 18

No School


Tuesday Jan. 19 C Day


Wednesday Jan. 20 D Day

8:30-9:30 Future Kindergartner B.R.E.A.K.


Thursday Jan. 21 E Day


Friday Jan. 22 A Day

3:00 BRAG rewards