Misti McCord

BA Business Administration, BA Social Science - Education

A little bit about me...

My name is Misti McCord. I am thirty-four years old and live in East Tennessee. I have been married to my wonderful husband, Eric, for almost fifteen years. I have two beautiful children, Alexa and Jagger.

I currently work as a substitute teacher at the local elementary school that my children attend. I began this job thinking that it would be on a part time basis, but soon became so in demand that I often have more requests to work than I can fill. It has made time management more difficult, but the connections I am making will serve me well after I graduate. In my free time (which is very limited), I enjoy watching television and movies, browsing the internet, and social networking. My hobbies also include reading and anything computer related, which is one of the reasons I chose Ashford University’s online program.

I am double majoring in Social Science with an Education Concentration and Business Administration. I realize this is a strange combination, but I am still debating what I plan to do when I receive my degree. I have thought about teaching, but I also enjoy learning about the business world. I will not be graduating until mid-2015, so I still have some time to think about my future.

I am in my final year as an Ashford student. I plan to work hard to maintain the high standards I set for myself. I am excited for the opportunity to be a mentor, as I feel that connecting with other Ashford students can help to enhance my personal experience here at AU.