The five pillars of islam

The care benefits of Muslims

First pillar-Shahadah-Faith

Muslims must say and believe no God but God.The testimony of faith (shahada). This means, “There is no deity but Allah. Muhammad is the messenger of Allah.” A person can convert to Islam by stating this creed. The shahada shows that a Muslim believes in Allah alone as deity and believes that Muhammad reveals Allah.

Second pillar-Salat-Prayers

Prayer-Five ritual prayers must be performed every day.
Big image

Third pillar-Zakat-Alms

Alms-This alms giving is a certain percentage given once a year.
Big image

Fourth pillar-Sawn-Fasting

Fasting-Muslims fast during Ramadan in the ninth month of the Islamic calendar. They must not eat or drink from dawn until sunset.
Big image

Fifth pillar-Hajj-Pilgrimage

Pilgrimage-If physically and financially possible, a Muslim must make the pilgrimage to Mecca in Saudi Arabia at least once. The hajj is performed in the twelfth month of the Islamic calendar.
Big image

History of islam

In the seventh century, Muhammad claimed the angel Gabriel visited him. During these angelic visitations, which continued for about 23 years until Muhammad's death, the angel purportedly revealed to Muhammad the words of Allah (the Arabic word for “God” used by Muslims). These dictated revelations compose the Qur'an, Islam's holy book. Islam means “submission,” deriving from a root word that means “peace.” The word Muslim means “one who submits to Allah.”