The Harlem Globetrotters

By Sammy Gross

Harlem Globetrotters History

The Harlem Globetrotters are a basketball team that were made in 1926. They were the first basketball team ever to have all African-Americans on the team. They were first known as the Chicago Globetrotters and then 3 years later changed their name to the Harlem Globetrotters

"Savoy Big Five"

Abe Saperstein at age 24, organizes and coaches a new basketball team, "Savoy Big Five," named after famous Chicago's Savoy Ballroom. The " Savoy Big Five" consists of players such as Tommy Brookins, Inman Jackson, Lester Johnson, Joe Lillard, Randolph Ramsey, Walter "Toots" Wright and Bill "Ham" Watson. Wright, Byron "Fat" Long, William "Kid" Oliver, Albert "Runt" Pullins and Andy Washington- players that would define the legendary nucleus of the first Globetrotters team.