NEAAAT News

Learning for the Real World. Every Class. Every Day.

Week of August 1, 2022

Big picture
Big picture

Transportation Information

Working together for the safety of our students. Click below for the informative video and slideshow.
Big picture
Big picture

Pikmykid App ~ Download the App Today

When transportation plans change, Pikmykid empowers parents to schedule and make updates from your app. No more office calls or notes to the classroom – just real-time updates without the middleman. Download the app today!
Big picture

Important Reminder Regarding Early Pickups

Please note:

If you need to pick up your student during school hours:

- Early pickup ends at 2:30pm. (M-Th)

- Early pickup ends at 11:45am. (Fri)

- Students may not be released from 2:30 - 3:15pm

unless prior arrangements have been made. (M-Th)

- Students may not be released from 11:45 - 12:30pm

unless prior arrangements have been made. (Fri)

- Bring your picture ID


School starts at 8:15am. Students should arrive by 8:05am.

Big picture

Required Forms for Chromebook Pickup

If you are unable to print the forms or access the survey, they will be available at NEAAAT . Should you elect to purchase device insurance, the cost is $20 per device. Students with any outstanding fees for prior damage or loss of their charger will not be assigned a Chromebook until all fees have been paid in full.


Print and fill out these forms for Chromebook pickup:


English Version:

Mobile Device Insurance Form and Responsible Use

School-Parent-Student Compact

Required Federal Funding Data Collection Survey

Federal Programs Acknowledgement Form

Yearly Medical Update Form 2022-2023


Spanish Version:

Mobile Device Insurance Form and Responsible Use

Formulario de Reconocimiento de Programas Federales

Pacto entre la escuela, los padres y el estudiante

Actualización médica anual

Encuesta de recopilación de datos de financiación federal española requerida

Big picture
Big picture

How to Set Up Your K12 Lunch Account

Dear Parents,

Great News! Dealing with your children’s lunch money just got a lot easier. You can now add money to your child’s meal account, transfer funds, and see their cafeteria purchase history all securely online from your computer, tablet or smartphone!

With K12PaymentCenter the chances of lunch money getting lost or stolen significantly decreases. Plus, you save time not having to come in and make meal payments in the cafeteria! You can schedule recurring payments, set up low balance notifications, and transfer funds. It will also save your payment history and receipts so you can refer back at any time. You will have access to your child’s account 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

How Do You Get Started? It’s simple!

· Go to K12PaymentCenter.com from your web browser

· First time users click “Sign Up” then select your state and district from the drop-down lists

· Fill in your information to set up the account

· Click “Manage Students” to add your student(s) with their last name and student ID number

How to affiliate with NEAAAT if you have an existing K12 account:

· Go to K12PaymentCenter.com from your web browser

· Login with your existing user ID and password

· Click “Manage Profile”

· On District dropdown line select “Northeast Academy for Aerospace & Tech”

· Existing balances will NOT transfer. Refunds must be requested from your prior district.

Once you create your account and add your students, you will have access to your student’s meal account balance and cafeteria purchase history for FREE! When making meal account payment there is a small convenience fee per transaction (not per child) to cover payment processing.

For more information or questions about using K12PaymentCenter please go to K12PaymentCenter.com or email contactus@k12paymentcenter.com

Click here to learn more about managing your child’s account online today

Lunches at NEAAAT - Parent ACTION Required

As of June 30, 2022 the USDA free lunch waivers that were available during the past two years expired. Lunch is no longer free for all students due to the end of this program. A Federal Program Survey was emailed to families 7/24/2022 and can be completed online. These will be used to determine free or reduced lunch eligibility. More detailed Meal Applications will be distributed at a later date. Any questions can be directed to shannanadeau@northeastacademy.org.


Lunch Prices

$4.15 Full Pay

$0.40 Reduced Pay


STUDENTS MUST ORDER THEIR LUNCH - CLICK HERE


Breakfast items will be available for purchase in Multi Purpose room. Prices will range from $0.50-$1.00. NEAAAT can no longer offer free Breakfast.


Menu for August 9-August 12

Tuesday - Sweet & sour chicken, Fried rice, Green beans, Diced pineapple

Wednesday - Chicken salad, Pasta salad, Seasoned corn salad, Saltine crackers, Juice

Thursday - Roasted pork loin, Mixed veggies, Cornbread, Au Gratin potatoes

Friday - Baked turkey breast, Vegetable rice, Green peas, Applesauce, Wheat roll

*Milk will be available with each meal

Updated Immunization Records

Attention Parents of 7th and 12th graders:


Students entering 7th and 12th grade must provide the school with an updated immunization record. Please bring your updated immunization records to Open House.


Students entering 7th grade are required to have one dose of Tdap (tetanus, diphtheria, pertussis) and one dose of MCV4 (meningococcal conjugate vaccine).


All 12th grade students are required to have a booster dose of MCV4 (meningococcal conjugate vaccine).


Please contact your healthcare provider to schedule an appointment. Information about these vaccines and the diseases they protect against can be found on the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s website:

https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/parents/by-age/index.html


Questions regarding medical needs or immunizations should be directed to Leslie Cropp, School Nurse, at lesliecropp@northeastacademy.org.


Medication Drop Off

Dear Parent or Guardian,


NEAAAT has a written policy to assure the safe administration of medication to students during the school day. Medications administered during school hours by school personnel should be kept to a minimum. If the medication schedule requires school-time administration, it is the parent’s or guardian’s responsibility to adhere to the following requirements:


  • New medication forms for both prescription and over-the-counter (OTC) medications must be signed every school year by a health care provider and parent/guardian. Non-emergency medication is not permitted to be carried on person or self-administered at school.

  • Medication must remain in the properly labeled pharmacy or original OTC container.

  • The parent/guardian is responsible to have the medication delivered directly to the school in a properly labeled original container by an adult.

  • If your child has rescue medications for respiratory conditions, epinephrine auto-injector, or insulin, glucagon, and related diabetes supplies, there must be a healthcare provider written permission and parent consent. Students must demonstrate the necessary knowledge and developmental maturity to safely assume responsibility for and management of self-carry medications.

  • Students with self-carry medications MUST HAVE A BACKUP MEDICATION stored in the Nurse’s office..

We request that you ask your pharmacist to give you a second identically labeled container for any prescription medications your student will take at school. We also request that you bring small unopened containers of any OTC medications that your child will be taking. This will allow the School Nurse to send these medications on field trips and comply with laws pertaining to medication storage. Medication forms are available on our website. http://www.northeastacademy.org/studentservices/administer-medication-at-neaaat-form/ ~

Medications can be dropped off during your student’s Open House time or you may email me at lesliecropp@northeastacademy to arrange an alternative drop off time. Please contact me if you have any questions.

Thank you in advance for your cooperation,

Leslie Cropp, BSN, RN

School Nurse

lesliecropp@northeastacademy.org


Big picture

Join the Elizabeth City Rowing Club

Elizabeth City Rowing Club Upcoming Events


August 1-5 Learn to Row Camp, 7-9am, $150
Fall rowing season: MWF 330-6pm starting Wednesday, September 7, $100 per season
See elizabethcityrowing.club or call Carol at 252-340-3638 for more information

Big picture

Fall Athletics at NEAAAT Update

Dear NEAAAT Family -


Here are some updates to information that was previously sent about fall athletics.


The parent meeting was held on July 27 at NEAAAT. If you were unable to attend this meeting, please email me so I can add you to the make up meeting list. It is a requirement of student athletes and parents to attend a meeting to hear updates to handbooks and other information. Thank you to those who have already reached out.


Sports Physicals expire 395 days after the exam. If your student has a sports physical on file at NEAAAT and you are unsure of the date, please email me and I will be glad to let you know.

All students must have an updated sports physical in order to condition or practice in any sport.


Physicals must be on the NCHSAA form linked HERE.


Below is the original email that was sent on July 1st in case you missed it.


Fall athletics planning is well underway. Here is some important information concerning the 22-23 fall athletic season. We are excited to be offering the following sports this fall for students in grades 6-12.


Middle Grades

Coed soccer - Coach Alex Pharr

Girls Volleyball - vacant

Coed Golf - Coach Matt Towell

MG Coed Cross Country - Coach Phil Huey


High School

Mens Soccer - Coach Alvin Medders

Girls Volleyball - Coach Leslie Cropp

HS Coed Cross Country - Coach Phil Huey


August 1 will begin mandatory practices for the following teams. The try out process for each team was discussed at the parent meeting on July 27.

MG Soccer

HS Soccer

MG Volleyball

HS Volleyball

MG/HS Cross Country

*Middle Grades golf will begin practice later in August.



Please reach out to Karrie Chappell, karriechappell@northeastacademy.org if you have any questions! Thank you for your continued support of student life at NEAAAT.

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

Announcing the 2022-2023 School Calendar.

Make a note, the first day of school is August 9, 2022.

Big picture

Staff Email Addresses

Staff Email Address

Alex Pharr alexpharr@northeastacademy.org

Allyson Sarnowski allysonsarnowski@northeastacademy.org

Alvin Medders alvinmedders@northeastacademy.org

Amanda Kozak amandakozak@northeastacademy.org

Andrew Harris ceo@northeastacademy.org

Ashley Gibson ashleygibson@northeastacademy.org

Barbara Volpe barbaravolpe@northeastacademy.org

Belinda Sadler belindasadler@northeastacademy.org

Blake Hawkins blakehawkins@northeastacademy.org

Caitlin McDonald caitlinmcdonald@northeastacademy.org

Caren Williams carenwilliams@northeastacademy.org

Carolyn Walton carolynwalton@northeastacademy.org

Chris Stoner chrisstoner@northeastacademy.org

Christine Vicars christinevicars@northeastacademy.org

Christopher Gilliam christophergilliam@northeastacademy.org

Dail Berry dailberry@northeastacademy.org

Dana Harrison danaharrison@northeastacademy.org

Deb West deborahwest@northeastacademy.org

Edward Forbes eforbes@northeastacademy.org

Emily Adams emilyadams@northeastacademy.org

Gwyn Hyman gwynhyman@northeastacademy.org

Holly Luther hollyluther@northeastacademy.org

James Bryson jamesbryson@northeastacademy.org

Jennifer McNeill jennifermcneill@northeastacademy.org

Jill Turner jillturner@northeastacademy.org

Jo Ellen Aspinwall joellenaspinwall@northeastacademy.org

John Towell johntowell@northeastacademy.org

Karen Haberli karenhaberli@northeastacademy.org

Karrie Chappell karriechappell@northeastacademy.org

Kim Mawhiney kimmawhiney@northeastacademy.org

Lauran Wilson lauranwilson@northeastacademy.org

Latonya Frost latonyafrost@northeastacademy.org

Leslie Cropp lesliecropp@northeastacademy.org

Linda Nelson lindanelson@northeastacademy.org

Lindsey Cahoon lindseycahoon@northeastacademy.org

Lisa Alcott lisaalcott@northeastacademy.org

Maria Sutton mariasutton@northeastacademy.org

Marie Alvarez mariealvarez@northeastacademy.org

Melanie Burley melanieburley@northeastacademy.org

Melanie Holtzman melanieholtzman@northeastacademy.org

Melissa Harrelson melissaharrelson@northeastacademy.org

Melissa Rady melissarady@northeastacademy.org

Michael Taylor michaeltaylor@northeastacademy.org

Michele Chappell michelechappell@northeastacademy.org

Michelle Flach michelleflach@northeastacademy.org

Misty Sirine mistysirine@northeastacademy.org

Pam Wilson pamwilson@northeastacademy.org

Paula Wynn paulawynn@northeastacademy.org

Phil Huey philhuey@northeastacademy.org

Rebecca Porter rebeccaporter@northeastacademy.org

Ryan Miller ryanmiller@northeastacademy.org

Said Bouftass saidbouftass@northeastacademy.org

Samantha Doran samanthadoran@northeastacademy.org

Samantha Turner samanthaturner@northeastacademy.org

Shala Spence shalaspence@northeastacademy.org

Shanna Nadeau shannanadeau@northeastacademy.org

Shannon Donahue shannondonahue@northeastacademy.org

Sharon Creef sharoncreef@northeastacademy.org

Shelby Hughes shelbyhughes@northeastacademy.org

Sherry Kight sherrykight@northeastacademy.org

Sophie Wood sophiewood@northeastacademy.org

NEAAAT SRO sro@northeastacademy.org

Suzanne Sanders suzannesanders@northeastacademy.org

Tameka Jackson tamekajackson@northeastacademy.org

Tamika Keys-McPherson tamikakeysmcpherson@northeastacademy.org

Tammy Hunter tammyhunter@northeastacademy.org

Teri Doughtie teridoughtie@northeastacademy.org

Thad Hollis thadhollis@northreastacademy.org

Theresa Nicely theresamccoy@northeastacademy.org

TJ Worrell tjworrell@northeastacademy.org

Stay In The Know


We like to keep our parents in the loop! Here is how you can stay in the know:



It is VERY important to let the school know if you have a change of email address. Please check your email regularly as email is a MAJOR form of communicating announcements to our families.


NEAAAT is on

Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube!

NEAAAT has a YouTube channel!


Recorded sessions may be viewed on Northeast Academy's YouTube channel. Go to: YouTube, Northeast Academy for Aerospace and Advanced Technologies, videos!

#teamneaaat #neaaatrocks #neaaatproud