The Seahawks Call

Week of May 3, 2021 Volume 31

Message from Principal Taylor..............................

We are welcoming back our last group of students this week. Students on the wait-list who received an approval letter are reporting back in person for two days per week depending on his/her last name. If your child's last name starts with an A-K, he/she will report on Mondays and Tuesdays. If your child's last name starts with an L-Z, he/she will report on Thursdays and Fridays. Wednesdays remain an asynchronous day for all students.

Teachers' Appreciation Week

May 3rd - May 7th

Big picture

PTSO celebrates Teachers' Appreciation Week

Big picture

Lifetouch Picture Orders

If you ordered a picture package from Lifetouch, and have not received your package, please stop by Somers between 8am-12pm during the week in order to pick up your picture package. Packages have been sent home with all Phase 2 and Phase 4 students.


If you have any questions about your pictures, please email Ms. Strobel at mstrobel@ccboe.com.

Library News from Mrs. H-J!

SeaHawks Read:

There is still time to check out the April poetry activities in Beanstack. Listening to Amanda Gorman read her poem “Miracle of Morning” or seeing what young poets around the world have written about Covid-19 are just 2 of the activities you can enjoy with your student.

Students access our Destiny Digital Library through their Office 365 accounts. New eBooks and audiobooks have recently been added. I can recommend The Trail by M. Hashimoto and The Last Equation of Charlie Thorne by Stuart Gibbs as unputdownable!


Library Reminders:

Students who are in the building can make arrangements to pick up a book to read. ALL library books will be due back May 20th as we begin to wind down the school year. Got books from last year? Please return them during school hours and make their book friends happy.

SCHOOL SUPPORTS

ADMINISTRATIVE TEAM

Marlon Walker - 6th Grade VP - mwalker@ccboe.com

Cynthia Panizzi - 7th Grade VP - cpanizzi@ccboe.com

Wualanda Thenstead - 8th Grade VP - wthenstead@ccboe.com

Sonia Matthew - Administrative Asst. - smatthew@ccboe.com


COUNSELING SUPPORTS

Kenneth Tojek - 6th Grade Counselor - ktojek@ccboe.com

Nancy Franklin - 7th Grade Counselor - nfranklin@ccboe.com

Brittany Williams - 8th Grade Counselor - bwilliams@ccboe.com


INSTRUCTIONAL LEADERSHIP TEAM

Andrea Johnson - Reading Resource Teacher (Reading) - afjohnson@ccboe.com

Jennifer Branham - Instructional Resource Teacher (Math) - jbranham@ccboe.com

Suzanne Johnson - Learning Resource Teacher (Gifted Education and Testing Coordinator) - srjohnson@ccboe.com

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Kathy Kiessling, Title IX Coordinator and Section 504 Coordinator (students), or Nikial M. Majors, Section 504 Coordinator (employees/adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, Maryland 20646. 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.