First Grade Newsletter

January 20th -23rd

New Homework for the Semester!

Dear Parents,


Can you believe we are already half way through first grade? The time is just flying by! With it being the start of a new semester, we are going to add a new weekly homework assignment. Each week we will be sending home a writing prompt that students will respond to. It is very important that they are practicing all the writing skills they've been learning at school. We've attached a rubric to show how students are graded for their writing. We would like to see them applying these concepts into ALL their writing.


When your child starts their writing, they need to start with an introduction, where they include who, what, where, when, and why. They need to focus on one specific moment and put their events in sequential order, using transition words. We will also be looking for them to add details into their writing to make it more interesting and provide a conclusion that brings their writing to an end. As they are completing their assignments, it is very important that they are spelling sight words correctly and pushing the sounds in other words. If you notice that they have words spelled completely wrong, that is a good time to push through the words with your child or have them use a resource around the house to spell it correctly. We do not expect them to spell everything correct independently, but this is a great time to work on it with them! So we do ask that you revise and edit your child's writing with them, so when they turn in their completed composition, it is their best possible work!


We really appreciate your continued support in everything we do!

Learning Targets

A Learning Target is the desired goal of each task in which your child will actively be involved. In addition, it engages your child in reflective evaluation of their own performance.

Each week you can ask your child about the learning target to ensure a great conversation of "what did you learn at school today?"


Readers Workshop:

Students will create visualizations using various genres.


Writers Workshop:

Students will learn how to respond to nonfiction texts.


Social Studies:

Students will learn about people who have worked together for the common good of their communities.


Math Workshop:

Students will learn how to compare numbers using greater than and less than.

Students will learn how to put numbers in order.


Science:

Students will continue learning about soil.

Upcoming Events

Tuesday, January 27 - Beckopoly

Friday, February 13 - Fairy Tale Ball and Valentine's Day Party

Teacher Contact Information

Brytnei Rocha: brocha@nisdtx.org
Stefanie Dailey: sdailey@nisdtx.org
Dan Flank: dflank@nisdtx.org
Alyssa Stas: astas@nistx.org
Amy Harding: aharding@nisdtx.org
Breanne Goeke: bgoeke@nisdtx.org
Kristin Beaty: kbeaty@nisdtx.org

Transportation Changes

To ensure your child's transportation changes are met each day, please contact the front office or email Beckelem@nisdtx.org and CC your child's teacher with the changes. It would be best to notify us as early in the day as possible.

We are the Power of One

Are you following Beck on Twitter? If not, please consider joining and keeping up with the amazing things happening on campus. You can also like us on Facebook! Click the links above to find out more.