EU family

Portugal formally applied to join the EU on March 28 1977


Portugal was a part of Spain. Then they got there indepence in 1640. Portugal is located in southwestern Europe in the western part of the Iberian Peninsula, Portugal borders Spain to the north and east and the Atlantic Ocean to the south and west.

Major cities

Brief History of Flag

The Portuguese flag was adopted on June 30, 1911 but the flag had been in use since a revolution overthrew the monarchy on October 5, 1910. Portugal originally declared independence from the Kingdom of Leon in 1128 and in 1170 independence was recognized by the Pope. The emblems on the Portuguese flag date back to the 12th century. The white shield with five blue shields is the arms adopted by Afonso Henriques I, after he defeated the Moors to establish the Christian kingdom of Portugal in 1139.


Belém is a must see place in Lisbon. Lisbon's most monumental and historical area is Belem. It was from here that many of the great Portuguese explorers embarked on their voyages of discovery: Prince Henry the Navigator and the first overseas expedition to conquer Ceuta in Morocco, Bartholomeu Dias to round the Cape of Good Hope, the first voyages of Ferdinand Magellan, Vasco da Gama to discover the sea route to India, and Christopher Columbus stopped here on his way back to Europe after discovering the New World.

Physical Features

Portugal is divided by the Tagus River, rolling plains in the south, and mountains of the Iberian Peninsula.


Portugals government type is a Parliamentary Partycracy. They use Euros and also use escudos too.