Chapter 29 Project

Jordon Coleman

Consumer Bill of Rights

  1. The Right to Safety: protection against products that are hazardous to life or health
  2. The Right to be informed: protection against fraudulent, deceitful, or grossly misleading practices and assurance of receiving facts necessary to make informed choices
  3. The Right to Choose: access to a variety of quality products and services offered at competitive prices
  4. The Right to be Heard: assurance of representation of consumer interests in formulating government policy and of fair and prompt treatment in enforcement of laws
  5. The Right to Redress: assurance that buyers have ways to register their dissatisfaction and receive compensation for valid complaints
  6. The Right to Consumer Education: assurance that consumers have the necessary assistance to plan and use their resources to maximum potential

Big image

Patients' Bill of Rights

  1. Information Disclosure: Patients have the right to receive accurate, easily understood information to make informed health care decisions
  2. Choice of Providers: Patients have the right to choose their own doctors and other health care providers.
  3. Access to Emergency Services: Patients have the right to access health care services how and where the need arises.
  4. Treatment Decisions: Patients have the right to fully participate in all decisions related to their health care
  5. Respect and Nondiscrimination: Consumers have the right to considerate, respectful care from all members of the health care system at all times
  6. Confidentiality: Consumers have the right to have the confidentiality of their individually identifiable health care information protected

Consumer Protection Laws

  • The Poultry Products Inspection Act of 1957 requires poultry to be inspected for harmful contaminants.
  • The Hazardous Substance Labeling Act of 1960 requires that warning labels appear on all household products that are potentially dangerous to the consumer
  • The Cigarette Labeling and Advertising Act of 1965 requires warning labels of health hazards from smoking
Big image

Federal Agencies

  • USDA (United States Department of Agriculture): There are a number of agencies within this agency that meet the various needs regarding the food supply in this country.
  • NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology): An agency within the U.S. department of commerce. One of its missions is to develop and reward standards of excellence in business.
  • FDA (Food and drug administration): This agency enforces laws and regulations preventing distribution of mislabeled foods, drugs, cosmetics, and medical devices.