First Grade Forest

Ms. Briggs' Class

Big image


MOY conference

Letters will go home about middle of the year conferences to discuss your child's progress and mClass updates.

Pretty Please Complete the Report Card Survey

Please complete the survey to help improve the report cards that we sent home. I personally thank you for your participation in the survey.

Upcoming Events

  • Friday, February 12th: Valentine'd Day Celebration at 2:00
  • Wednesday, February 17th: Lion Dancers Assembly
  • Friday, February 19: Early Release Day.
  • Monday, February 22: Teacher Workday
  • Thursday, February 25: Tea & Talk with the Superintendent for Claxton Families
  • Friday, March 11th: Early Release Day
  • Tuesday. March 15th: Math Carnival and Chicken Dinner 5:30-7:00pm
  • Wednesday, March 16th: K-5 Career Fair in the gymnatorium 9:00-noon

Please Note that: the annual Light the Night Auction is on Friday, March 18

Big image

Quick overview of what are we learning

Fundations: Unit 8 Test on Friday! We are learning constant blends and r controlled vowels (ar, er, ir, or, ur). Our trick words this week are could, would should, her, over, number. Please complete the homework.

Writing: This week we are making our writing stronger by adding adjectives to help the reader visualize what we write. Next week we are beginning our arctic animal research projects as well as opinion writing.

Daily 5: We continue to work with non-fiction text features and how to use them for research questions. We are also identifying main idea and key details in non-fiction text.

Math: Last week in math we looked at word problems and determining if Addition Addi or if Subby Bunny are coming to the party. This week we met Equal Eddie who likes to have balance and make everyone feel good. We are recognizing now that Subby Bunny and Addition Addi More.

Fun this week: 100 day of school activities, Chinese New Year, and Valentines Day Fun

Big image

Share with us!

Magic Marker and Colored Pencils

Ask your child if they need new crayons or colored pencils for their personal use.

We also still need more Coffee Filters Please! Thank you!

Snack List

Wed. Jan. 13- Dejahnai

Thurs. Jan.14- Brenton

Friday Jan. 15 - Ja'Ryn

Wed. Jan. 20- Tremayne

Thurs. Jan. 21- William

Friday Jan. 22- Conner

Mon. Jan.25 - Norah

Tues. Jan. 26- Katelyn

Wed. Jan. 27 - Lainey

Thurs. Jan.28- Kiley

Friday Jan 29- Riley

Mon. Feb. 2- Razzio

Tues. Feb. 3- Jyniah

Wed. Feb. 4 - Orion

Thurs. Feb. 5 - Bennett

Friday Feb. 6 - Ziggy

Mon. Feb. 9- India

Tues. Feb. 10 - Rose

Wed. Feb. 11- Mary Thomas

Thursday. Feb 12- Emma

Friday Feb. 13- Niihviah

MyOn is an easy and free way to access books

myON allows students to choose what books they like to read anytime, anywhere from a collection containing thousands of enhanced digital books.Research states that literacy is a key component of student achievement. From reading on any device to reinforcing educational content, myON mobile offers infinite reading access with proven educational benchmarking.