The Hunger Games Series: Mockingjay

Written by Suzanne Collins

Created by Laura Fly

Plot Summary

Katniss Everdeen has been rescued from the 75th Hunger Games arena and is in District 13th. She is mentally disoriented and struggling to accept the loss of her home and Peeta, who is a captive in the Capitol. Peeta is her fiance and has been a steady presence in her life; he becomes one of the few people she can really trust. Katniss takes on the role of the Mockingjay, a symbol for the rebels in the districts who are fighting against the Capitol. She is reluctant to take on the role, but realizes she must after witnessing the suffering of people and seeing the power she has to help. When Peeta is rescued, their relationship changes. One theme of the book is love and how it can change people.

Other books by Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games, Catching Fire (the first two books in the series)

Gregor the Overlander (Underland Chronicles series)

If you like The Hunger Games, then you might enjoy...

The Maze Runner series ( The Scorch Trials, The Death Cure) by James Dashner

Divergent series (Insurgent, Allegiant) by Veronica Roth

Matched series (Crossed, Reached) by Allie Condie