by: Hannah Braem

Government in Ghana

The main government systems in ghana are Unitary state, Presidential system, and Constitutional republic. Ghana’s is a multiparty constitutional democracy founded on elections by open and free universal adult suffrage. All natives above 18 years of age are eligible to vote into office an Executive President for a maximum of two four-year terms. A 230-member Parliament is also elected for unlimited four-year terms. The main arms of Government are the Executive, Legislature and Judiciary each of which is independent of the other.

Ghana has a population of over 23 million people

The capital of Ghana

Accra is the capital city of Ghana in West Africa. Almost 2 million people live in Accra, making it Ghana's most populated city. Accra has been Ghana's capital since 1877 when the British ruled this part of West Africa.

Ghana has been improving the quality of man's humanity to man. ~ Maya Angelou

The official language of Ghana is English along with other African languages

Fun Facts!!

*Gold and cocoa are considered a mainstay of economy in Ghana
*The currency used in Ghana is called Cedi
*Ghana has a substantial freedom of media; as the private press functions with no restrictions
*Ghana borders with Ivory Coast, Burkina Faso, and Togo

Ghana gained its independence from Britain in 1957.

USA vs Ghana Highlights World Cup 2010