How Do You Acquire New Land?

Getting Land Under the Continental Congress

Land Ordinance of 1785

Under the Land Ordinance of 1785, land is systematically surveyed into six square townships, each side being six miles. Each of these is subdivided into 36 sections, each one square mile. Section 16 is always set aside for the maintenance of public schools.

To purchase land, you can haggle over the subdivided sections, and can even divide the one square mile sections further down if you don't need that much land.

Please keep in mind that sections 8, 11, 26, and 29 are all reserved for use by the federal government. The federal government has also reserved one third of all gold, silver, lead, and copper mines that may be found.

The Northwest Ordinance of 1787

The Northwest Ordinance gives all unsettled lands to the federal government. More than three but no more than five states will be established in this region (the Northwest). This ordinance establishes that once a state's population reaches 60,000 it shall be able to send a representative to Congress along with the original 13 states.

The ordinance will call for a public university to be built in order to educate the people settling in the Northwest.

There will be no slavery or involuntary servitude within this new region. However, any fugitive slave caught in this territory shall be lawfully returned to their owner from whom they escaped.

Articles of Confederation

The Articles of Confederation unite all of us as one "United States of America." It also gives each state its "sovereignty, freedom, and independence," so that the federal government is not so powerful that it strips the states of their rights. Each state is represented by one delegate. The only power the states do not have is the power to conduct foreign political or commercial relations, and to declare war. However, each state can send a delegate to be represented in this efforts.