MGM 8th Grade House News

October 12, 2018

Welcome!

Welcome to 8th Grade! Please read below for house news, upcoming assessments, and 8th-grade house highlights. These newsletters will be emailed every Friday.

Follow Us!

Please keep up with news and happenings at MGMS by following us on social media. Check us out at:


Facebook @mgmsgators

Twitter @mgmgators

Instagram @mgmgators

School website: mgms.lexington1.net

Teacher Contact Information

Please contact your child's teacher if you have any questions or concerns.

Administration:

Dr Bill Coon - bcoon@lexington1.net

Dr. Kyle Meetze - kmeetze@lexington1.net

Jamie Powell-jpowell@lexington1.net

Alisa Long- aklong@lexington1.net

House Leader

Ashley Holmes aholmes@lexington1.net


8th Grade Core Teachers

Please see the attached information for 8th grade core teachers. Each content area also provided tips for success in these classes.


Encore Teachers

Drama - Rachel Cooper - rlcooper@lexington1.net

Orchestra - Jennifer Mann - jmann@lexington1.net

Dance - Megan Viazanko- mviazanko@lexington1.net

Dance - Kara Corley - kccorley@lexington1.net

Band - Melanie Winn- mwinn@lexinton1.net

Art - June Collins - jcollins@lexington1.net

Art - Beth Maddox - bmaddox@lexington1.net

Chorus - Augie Gil- agil@lexington1.net

STEM - Cliff Roberts - cjroberts@lexington1.net

ICIVICS - Melody Shafer - mshafer@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Phillip Thomas - pthomas@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Stephen Harmon - srharmon@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed- Abby Chisholm - achisholm@lexington1.net

PE - Candice Cobb - ccobb@lexington1.net

PE - Ben Anderson- rbanderson2@lexington1.net

Digital Design - Ryan Panter - rpanter@lexington1.net

Supplemental Math - Ann Bennett - abennett@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Susan Myrick - smyrick@lexington1.net

Math RTI - Trisha Hamilton - thamilton@lexington1.net

ELA RTI - Rayna Kleckley - rkleckley@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Jennifer Williams - jbwilliams@lexington1.net


World Language

Latin - Jessica Stolebarger - jstolebarger@lexington1.net

French - Dr. Todd Spaulding - tspaulding@lexington1.net

French - Erin Hamner - ehamner@lexington1.net

French - Cheikh Fall - cfall@lexington1.net

French - Catherine Pontens-Alemu - cpontens-alemu@lexington1.net

Chinese - Na Zhang - nzhang@lexington1.net

Chinese - Susan Wang - ywang@lexington1.net

Chinese-Natalie Lukity - nlukity@lexington1.net

Spanish - Samantha Simmons - ssimmons@lexington1.net

Spanish - Valentina Salomon msalomon@lexington1.net

Spanish - Hilda Duarte - hduartegomez@lexington1.net

Spanish - Filder Segura - fsegura@lexington1.net

Take a Stand Expedition

Our expedition in 8th grade, Take a Stand, has officially begun with our kick off - a flash mob led by our 8th-grade teachers, the viewing and debriefing of the movie, Hidden Figures, and a morning of community experts. Our students will be asked to Take a Stand and bring about action to an individual passion. We are very proud of the work that has taken place thus far. Our students will explore two guiding questions throughout the next couple of months. They are:

1. Why take a stand?

2. How do I, others, and organizations take a stand?

A HUGE THANK YOU!

A very special thank you to our group of community experts who spent Tuesday morning with us. They shared their passion with our students and discussed how that passion has led to making a change within our local community. We are so grateful for their time and their stories.
Big picture

MGM Counseling Department - Follow us on Twitter: @mgmcounseling

MGM PTO NEWS

Sign up using the link below to receive emails from MGMS PTO. We will share information about our meetings, events, volunteer opportunities and more! Register Here Please contact us at mgmsptogators@gmail.com if you have any questions.

Book Fair Coming October 8-17

The Book Fair will be here next week. Come by and visit the Learning Commons to purchase new books. Start shopping now. Use the link below to begin shopping. Parents may also learn about how eWallet works.


https://bookfairs.scholastic.com/bookfairs/cptoolkit/homepage.do?

method=homepage&url=meadowglenmiddleschool1&appesp=CPT/ib/20120101///txtl/FairFindertoHomepage

PTO FUNDRAISER

Big picture

Basketball Tryouts

Check out times and dates for upcoming Basketball Tryouts.

Basketball Pre-season Workouts

Basketball pre-season workouts for boys & girls are currently under way.
This is for 7th and 8th graders only! In order for you to participate you need to hand in an updated physical to Coach Cobb. Updated physicals must be dated April 1st or after, NO EXCEPTIONS. Physical packets are located in the front office. See Coach Cobb for a copy of the workouts or any other questions. IF YOU ARE IN SEASON YOU MAY NOT PARTICIPATE UNTIL AFTER YOUR SPORT IS OVER.

ENCORE NEWS

Save the date!

8th Grade Fall Dance Showcase, featuring original student choreography

Thursday November 8th, 7:30pm

MGM Auditorium

8TH GRADE UPCOMING ASSESSMENTS

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT ASSESSMENTS BELOW, PLEASE EMAIL YOUR CHILD'S TEACHER.
ELA: See Schoology for updates


ENGLISH I: See Schoology for updates


PRE-ALGEBRA: Check Schoology for updates


ALGEBRA I: Check Schoology for updates


GEOMETRY: Proving Angle Relationships Formative on Wednesday (10/17)


SCIENCE : Accident at Ginny Lane Presentations Thursday and Friday (10/18 and 10/19). This has been an ongoing in class project. Retest for Force and Motion Test must be finished by Thursday (10/18) This can be done before school, during lunch, and after school. See your teacher for evidence of learning requirements.


SOCIAL STUDIES: Unit 1-6 Civil Rights Movement (Part 2) Quiz is Thursday 10/18

Initial Version of African American Hall of Fame Projects are due for 1st Peer Review on Friday 10/19


WORLD LANGUAGES: Please click on the link to view assessments.

Thank you for sharing your children with us each day! We look forward to a great school year!