Chapter 29 Project

Kristen Daniels

Consumer Bill of Rights

1. The Right to Safety: The protection against products that are hazardous to life or health.

2. The Right to Be Informed: The protection against fraudulent or misleading practices and assurances of facts recieved in order to make informed decisions or choices.

3. The Right to Choose: Having access to a variety of quality products and services that are offered at competitive prices.

4. The Right to Be Heard: Assurance of representation of a consumer's interest in formulating government policy and of fair and prompt treatment in the enforcement of laws.

5. The Right to Redress: assurance that buyers have ways to register their dissatisfaction and recieve compensation for valid complaints.

6. The Right to Consumer Education: Assurance that consumers have the necessary assistance to plan and use their resources to the maximum potential.

Patients' Bill of Rights

1. Information Disclosure: Patients have the right to recieve accurate, easily understood information, in order to make informed health care decisions.

2. Choice of Providers: Patients have the right to choose their own doctors and other health care providers.

3. Access to Emergency Services: Patients have the right to access health care services how and where the need arises.

4. Treatment Decisions: Patients have the right to fully participate in all decisions related to their health care.

5. Respect and Nondiscrimination: Consumers have the right to considerate and respectful care from all members of the health care system at all times.

6. Confidentiality: Consumers have the right to have the confidentiality of their individually identifiable health care information protected.

Big image

Consumer Protection Laws

1. Flammable Fabrics Act: enables the Consumer Product Safety Commission to set flammability standards for materials such as clothing, children's sleepwear, carpets, rugs, and mattresses.

2. Meat Inspection Laws: Requires poultry to be inspected for harmful contaminants.

3. Toy Safety Act: Permits a quick recall of toys and other articles intended for use by children that might present a substantial risk of injury.

Federal Agencies

1. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC): protects consumers from hazardous consumer products.

2. United States Postal Inspection (USPIS): federal law enforcement agency that invesitgates consumer problems involving the illegal use of mail.

3. Federal Aviation Administration (FAA): controls air traffic and certifies aircraft, airports, pilots, and other personnel. Also writes and enforces air safety regulations and air traffic prodecures.

Big image