WPMS 6th Grade

Welcome to middle school!

February 26, 2021

Schedule Adjustments

Here is a huge THANK YOU to all our WPMS families for your flexibility and dedication to learning. We have only used our 2-hour delay procedures a few times this year, but the students did a great job getting to classes and staying focused on schoolwork yesterday. This reflects well on you as parents. All our 6th grade teachers appreciate the consistency we can have as a class when all students are in attendance and ready to learn, even on an unexpected remote day. Way to go!

MAP Testing Next Week

As part of our district commitment to student growth, we will be measuring progress next week using the MAP test. Students took this test in the fall, so we will be able to compare scores and see areas of growth as well as what still needs work.

Please encourage your student to get a good night of sleep each night and eat a good breakfast. You can also remind your student that these tests are not for a grade. Teachers are looking for progress, not perfection. We want to keep test anxiety to a minimum!

Enrichment Rotations

6th graders started in new enrichment classes this week. Ask your student to share a fun lesson from PE, art, or music!

Band meets on Wednesday or Thursday during enrichment class. Remind your student to bring their instrument, and check Google Classroom for band homework!

Although this year hasn't been ideal for the enrichment class schedule, we are so glad that our students got a chance to try out every class. Now as 7th graders, they will be able to dive into their favorites for a more in-depth experience.

Academic Assistance and SDL

Reminder! SDL is available every Monday-Thursday! All teachers during this time are available to help with all content areas - there is no need to wait for a specific day! Teachers can assist with checkpoints, focus areas, and final projects.

Students can log in each day to the SDL class, from 2:20-3:00. Every Tuesday and Thursday, there is also an after-school session from 3:30-4:30. Click this link to find the schedule and the link to join.

Contact a 6th Grade Teacher

Math and Science-

Jessica Stuart jstuart@wpsdk12.org

Mike Schoudel mschoudel@wpsdk12.org

English and History-

Laurie Gutierrez lgutierrez@wpsdk12.org

Amber Schroetlin aschroetlin@wpsdk12.org

Enrichments-

Justin Benjamin jbenjamin@wpsdk12.org

Elizabeth Barry ebarry@wpsdk12.org

Support Staff-

Kathy Morford, counselor kmorford@wpsdk12.org

Nancy Godwin, special education ngodwin@wpsdk12.org

Tianna Frayer, special education tfrayer@wpsdk12.org

Sandra Reynolds, English language learning sreynolds@wpsdk12.org

Josh DeSmidt, restorative practices jdesmidt@wpsdk12.org

WPSD Re-2

Woodland Park School District Re-2 does not unlawfully discriminate against otherwise qualified students, employees, applicants for employment, or members of the public on the basis of disability, race, creed, color, sex, sexual orientation, marital status, national origin, ancestry, or need for special education services. Discrimination against employees and applicants for employment based on age, genetic information, and conditions related to pregnancy or childbirth; is also prohibited in accordance with state and/or federal law.