Stanwood Middle School

Family Message - September 4th, 2021

Big picture

Good morning Stanwood Middle School Families!


We hope everyone has an enjoyable long weekend! Here are some reminders and some new information as we head into our second week of school.


Schedules

All students should know their schedules for Tuesday morning. Students can check Skyward if they forgot and write their schedule down.


The last day for schedule changes is this Friday, September 10.


Please direct your questions to:

6th grade: Jayde Piggott jpiggott@stanwood.wednet.edu

7th and 8th grade: Kyland Fischer kfischer@stanwood.wednet.edu



Counselor/Therapist/SSA Schedule

Ms. Fischer, 7th and 8th grade counselor, is here everyday.

Ms. Hart, Student Support Advocate, is here every Monday and Wednesday and every other Friday.

Ms. Morishige, our School Based Mental Health Therapist, is here every Tuesday and Friday.

Ms. Piggott, 6th Grade Counselor, is here Tuesdays and Fridays and every other Wednesday.


Sports

Sports start Tuesday, September 7th after school.


Girls Soccer will practice at Stanwood Middle School.

Football and Cross Country practice at Port Susan Middle School.

Softball practices at Stanwood High School.


Students participating in sports off campus will ride the Y bus (second wave) to get to Port Susan and the high school.


If you haven't registered your student for sports, please use this link: Sports Sign-ups


Also, please remember that athletes must have a physical in order to participate.


Required Paperwork

Parent/Guardian homework is coming! Please check with your Spartan on Thursday or Friday--we will send home the forms needed for the year, plus information pertinent to our school.


Cookie Dough and the PTO

Our PTO is hosting a cookie dough fundraiser starting September 13. More information coming soon!


Chromebooks

All Spartans should have picked up their Chromebook last week. If they haven't, we will get them one this week. Please remind your Spartan to bring your Chromebook everyday.


Our bus to the YMCA has started. Students must bring a parent note (or have parents call the office) to get a pass for the bus. This will be a permanent pass and only one note or phone call is needed.


Here is a list of teacher emails to help with parent communication:


Anderson - aanderson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Austin - saustin@stanwood.wednet.edu

Berg - jberg@stanwood.wednet.edu

Hearn (Beuthien) - bhearn@stanwood.wednet.edu

Bliss - pbliss@stanwood.wednet.edu

Bridenbaugh - kbridenbaugh@stanwood.wednet.edu

Brown - lbrown@stanwood.wednet.edu

Carlson - hcarlson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Diel - kdiel@stanwood.wednet.edu

Donovan - adonovan@stanwood.wednet.edu

Ensley - kensley@stanwood.wednet.edu

Gelatt - dgelatt@stanwood.wednet.edu

Getzinger - jgetzinger@stanwood.wednet.edu

Harlan (librarian) - sharlan@stanwood.wednet.edu

Holum - cholum@stanwood.wednet.edu

Ingram - kingram@stanwood.wednet.edu

Liebscher - kliebscher@stanwood.wednet.edu

May - bmay@stanwood.wednet.edu

Rawson (Rockwood) - brawson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Schonberg - jschonberg@stanwood.wednet.edu

Stuart - cstuart@stanwood.wednet.edu

Stunz - lstunz@stanwood.wednet.edu

ten Hoopen - mtenhoopen@stanwood.wednet.edu

Thomas - kthomas@stanwood.wednet.edu

Wall - lwall@stanwood.wednet.edu


As I mentioned in earlier Family Messages, new this year, to avoid congestion in our hallways, students will not be released to go to their classes until 7:25 a.m. in the mornings. Students will have plenty of time to eat breakfast in the cafeteria before school when they arrive, but students who finish eating or are not eating lunch will have to remain in the foyer or library before school.


To help us avoid congestion in our common areas, if you are dropping your student off in the mornings please do so as close to the start of school at 7:40 a.m. as possible. We appreciate your help!


I've included information below from previous Family Messages.


Our Family Messages will come out each Saturday morning from this point forward, but as usual please do not hesitate to call or email if you need anything or have questions!


Have a great night!


Tod Klundt

Principal

Stanwood Middle School

tklundt@stanwood.wednet.edu

A reminder from the District

Big picture

********************************

Information from previous Family Messages below:

Lunches

Lunches are based on fourth period classes. If a student has 4A on their schedule, then they will have lunch before fourth period. If a student has 4B on their schedule, then they will have lunch after fourth period.


Teachers with first lunch:

Anderson

Berg

Bliss

Diel

Donovan

Ingram

Rawson

ten Hoopen

Thomas


Teachers with second lunch:

Austin

Brown

Gelatt

Getzinger

Hearn

Liebscher

May

Schonberg

Stunz

Wall


A reminder that all 8th grade students will eat in the West Gym. Seventh graders will eat in the cafeteria for the first half of their lunch while sixth graders go outside and enjoy some free time. Half way through the lunch period, sixth graders will come into the cafeteria to eat lunch.

Stanwood Middle School PTO

Our PTO is an amazing group of people working together to support our students. From fundraisers to activities, their work helps our Spartans engage, connect, and thrive at Stanwood Middle School. Please like their Facebook page for all the up-to-date information about our school--and get ready for a great fundraiser coming this September!

Big picture

FAQs

You can use these links to access frequently asked questions about the upcoming school year:



FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS ABOUT THE 2021-22 SCHOOL YEAR


PREGUNTAS FRECUENTES SOBRE EL CICLO ESCOLAR 2021-22

*********************************

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

The Stanwood-Camano School District does not discriminate in employment, programs, or activities on the basis of sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, age, veteran or military status, sexual orientation, gender expression or identity, disability, or the use of a trained dog guide or service animal and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding compliance and/or grievance procedures may be directed to the District's Title IX/Affirmative Action Officer and Civil Rights Compliance Coordinator, Maurene Stanton (mstanton@stanwood.wednet.edu), or the Section 504/American Disabilities Act Coordinator, Robert Hascall (rhascall@stanwood.wednet.edu) Stanwood-Camano School District, 26920 Pioneer Hwy, Stanwood, WA 98292. Telephone: (360) 629-1200.



El Distrito Escolar de Stanwood-Camano School District no discrimina en sus programas o actividades por motivos de sexo, raza, credo, religión, color, origen nacional, edad, condición de veterano de guerra o grado militar, orientación sexual, expresión de género o identidad, discapacidad o uso de perro guía entrenado o animal de servicio, y ofrece igualdad de acceso a los Boy Scouts y a otros grupos de jóvenes especificados. El empleado mencionado a continuación ha sido designado para atender consultas y quejas de supuesta discriminación: Título IX / Oficial de Acción Afirmativa y Coordinador de Cumplimiento de Derechos Civiles, Maurene Stanton (mstanton@stanwood.wednet.edu), o la Sección 504 / Coordinador de la Ley de Discapacidades Estadounidenses, Robert Hascall (rhascall@stanwood.wednet.edu), Distrito Escolar Stanwood-Camano, 26920 Pioneer Hwy, Stanwood, WA 98292. Teléfono: (360) 629- 1200

Ms. Fox's Farewell Message

As mentioned previously, Ms. Fox left to work closer to home. Change is tough! She wanted to send a message to all of the 7th and 8th graders saying goodbye. We will email all of the students in the 7th and 8th grade her message this week.

Athletics

Sports Registration is live now. The form is on our website and accessible here:

Sports Sign-ups

All first season sports (Cross Country, Football, Girls' Soccer, and Softball) begin September 7.

Please feel free to email me at hchristmasharris@stanwood.wednet.edu or our Athletic Secretary, Tia Hannawalt at khannawalt@stanwood.wednet.edu, or call the office at 360-629-1350, with any questions you might have.