By Farah

Summary of Islam

Islam is a monotheistic religion. The followers of Islam are called Muslims. The two sects of Islam are Sunni and Shi'i. Sunni is the largest sect. Shi'i believes the government should be run by religious leaders. Muslims believe in Allah, meaning God in Arabic. The god of Abraham is a common figure in Islam, Judaism, and Christianity. Islam is a monotheistic religion based on the teachings of Prophet Mohammed and the beliefs in the god of Abraham. Muslims pray everyday at home or in a mosque, but their Sabbath is on Fridays. Friday is a special prayer day.An imam leads the prayer. The holy book of Islam is called the Qur'an. Muslims believe that the Qur'an contains the pure words of Allah. The Qur'an also contains the Five Pillars of Faith which are Shahadha, a public declaration of faith, Salat, praying five times a day facing Mecca, Zakat, giving 2.5% of wealth to the needy, Siyam, fasting during Ramadan from sunrise to sunset, and Hajj, which means every Muslim must make a pilgrimage to Mecca at least once in their lifetime. Two major holidays in Islam are Ramadan and Eid-al-Fitr. Ramadan is the month when Muslims fast from sunrise to sunset each day for a month. It celebrates Allah giving Mohammed messages. Eid -al-Fitr is celebrated after Ramadan, and it is a time for family to get together. The six major beliefs of Islam are that there is one god, angels, the Holy Books, the Prophets, the Day of Judgement, and Predestination. Jerusalem is important to Islam's history because the al-Asqa Mosque was built there. The Dome of the Rock is located in the al-Aqsa mosque and that is where the Prophet Mohammed ascended into heaven.