Levels of the Federal Court System

ny'kerria lucas

First Level

Supreme Court- highest court in the federal court system, nine justices meeting in Washington D.C. , appeals jurisdiction through ceritiori process

Second Level

Courts of appeal- intermediate level in the federal court system-12 regional "circuit courts" including D.C. Circuit-No original jurisdiction; strictly appellate-

Third Level

Courts of appeal- lowest level, no appeallate, 94 judicial districts in 50 states, orginial jurisdiction over most cases

Types of Jurisdiction

Exclusive Jurisdiction

Only they may hear and decide such cases.

Concurrent Jurisdiction

They share jurisdiction and either may hear the cases.