Caldecott Award

This is not my hat

The Caldecott

The Randolph Caldecott Medal annually recognizes the year's "most awesome American picture book for children", beginning with 1937 publications. It is awarded to the illustrator by the Association for Library Service for Children. The Caldecott and Newbery Medals are the most prestigious American children's book awards!

Jon Klassen

Jon Klassen is an illustrator. He won the Caldecott with his "This Is Not My Hat" book. He won the Caldecott in 2013. This year! I think Jon wrote this book to tell you NOT TO steal someone's hat. Klassen was born in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada in 1981. He worked on animation for Kung Fu Panda. Also animation for Coraline. He also wrote I Want My Hat Back. It won the Caldecott Award because it was a short, easy- to- understand book. For kids who are learning to read.

Nathan Smith!

Comparing Books...

This Is Not My Hat is about a little fish that steals a big fish's hat. The big fish goes after him and seems to know where he is. The little fish will probably get away.... PROBABLY.

The Biggest Bear is about a boy named Johnny and all the town has bear skin except his family. And he goes out with a gun to go kill a bear, the thing is, he doesn't want to kill it.

This is Not My Hat - - Jon Kassen