Welcome to Lincoln County

North Carolina

¨Welcome to historic Lincoln County¨

Lincoln County is located in the Piedmont region of North Carolina in district 10. Our adjacent counties are Catawba, Iredell, Mecklenburg, Gaston, Cleveland, and Burke. This county was named after Benjamin Lincoln, a general in the American Revolutionary War. Lincoln county was founded in 1779.

What is Lincoln County known for?

Lincoln County has a large cultural heritage from a span of over 200 years. We are one of the oldest counties west of the Catawba River. As early as the mid 18th century, settlers have came to this land for its inexpensive farmland and rich soil in North Carolina's backcountry. To this day, there are three mid 18th century residences still standing.

Need a place to visit?

Lincoln County Historical Center

One of the most visited attractions is the Lincoln County Historical Center. Since 1907, citizens had been asking about a museum of sorts to proudly display all of the historic relics of Lincoln. In 1954 a group of people from various counties met to discuss the importance of the cultural center. Not soon after were the plans and blueprints made.

Lincoln Theater Guild

Lincoln Theatre Guild was formed in 1981 with only 15 members. Over the years it has become a succesful organization. They perform seven plays a year and it is certainly something you don't want to miss when visiting.

Need a fun family day?

Rock Springs Nature Preserve

This new public park includes amenities such as a picnic shelter, a children's play area, a four mile trail, an amphitheater, and an outdoor classroom. It is open from 7a.m. until dusk.

Beatty's Ford Park

This park features a picnic shelter, disc golf, a walking trail, volleyball courts, horseshoe pits, a splash park area (open 10:30 a.m.- 6:30p.m.), two playgrounds, and an amphitheater.

Want to get involved in our government?

Come to the next Board of Commissioners meeting in our county seat, Lincolnton. There are currently five members. We also have four members in the city council: Devin Rhyne, John (Les) Cloninger, Carroll Heavner, and Larry Mac Hovis. The county manager is Kelly Atkins. Our city manager is Jeff Emory and our mayor is John O Gilleland, Jr. (below)
Big image