The Federal Court System

Juliet Meyers

The federal court system has 3 different levels...

Supreme Court - The Supreme Court of the United States is the highest court in the American judicial system, and has the power to decide appeals on all cases brought in federal court or those brought in state court but dealing with federal law.

Circuit Court - Once the federal district court has decided a case, the case can be appealed to a United States court of appeal.

District Court - The district courts are the general trial courts of the federal court system.

Big image

Types of Jurisdiction

1. Exclusive - Only federal courts have authority to hear , state courts cannot.

2. Concurrent - Federal or state courts could hear.

3. Original - First one to hear the case.

4. Appleate - Court can only hear case on appeal.

Big image