Port Susan Middle School

Family & Student Update 05/15/2022

Rotary Student Awards

Congratulations!

We are excited to announce our Rotary Student Award recipients for the 2021-2022 school year. In addition, we will be making certificates for all that were nominated to be recognized this upcoming week. We have so many students that make a positive impact on our school culture and the support they provide in leading by example is appreciated. Thank you to our parents and staff for your continued guidance.


Sylvi DeBoer

  • Sylvi is such a nice young lady. She is a good friend and a positive role model for others. She is involved in athletics and is in leadership roles in school. Sylvi always has a smile on her face and works hard to be successful in academics. I have loved getting to know Sylvi over the years. She would be very deserving of this award.
  • Sylvi DeBoer is kind to all of her classmates. She is always respectful and has such a wonderful attitude. I have enjoyed watching Sylvi start at Port Susan as a shy quiet 6th grader and grow into an outgoing involved school leader. She played school volleyball, basketball and is also an ASB officer. She does all of this and still maintains straight A's in all of her classes. Sylvi is a shining example of what a Rotary Student winner should be!
  • Sylvi is kind and respectful throughout her day. She has positive contributions both in the classroom as well as in our building culture by being an active participant in sports and leadership. Thank you!


Oscar Cabe

  • Oscar is a responsible student. He is polite and respectful to everyone.
  • He is a great role model for his peers. He is polite and helpful. He is kind to others and goes out of his way to try to make people feel important. He is a good student and is a hard worker at school and works hard mowing lawns for neighbors as well. He is a fantastic young man!
  • Oscar Cabe is a wonderful young man. He is such a great role model for all of our students at Port Susan. He has integrity and you can always count on him. He is so kind and respectful to everyone he meets. He plays sports and volunteers to help out any chance he gets. I was so impressed as he went in front of our entire staff and talked to them about changing a school rule (no hats in the building) that many felt needed to be changed. He is my TA and always volunteers to work with the kids that are a bit more challenging. Oscar Cabe is one special kid and the Rotary Award would be so well deserved.

Smarter Balance Assessment Update

Next week, our 8th grade students will be taking the Science assessment. This will conclude our testing schedule for students to work during class periods. Starting Tuesday, we will begin pulling 6th & 7th grade students that need additional time into the library throughout the day. Towards the end of next week, we will finish off with 8th grade students. Thank you for your support and understanding of the workload testing puts on our students. Our staff will continue to make adjustments as needed for students so they can finish the year with a positive attitude that we have supported their learning needs to reach their full potential. I encourage all parents & students to check Skyward grading system weekly for updates.


**Thank you to our PTO for a little motivation for our students (pictured below)

Big picture

Chromebook Collection

Our district technology department will begin collecting student chromebooks on Thursday, May 26th from PSMS students to get them inventoried, check for damage, and update them as needed to prepare for the 2022-2023 school year. On May 26th, we will begin with our 6th grade students and collect them during our advisory time together in the foyer. On May 27th, we will collect from 7th grade students and finish off with 8th grade students when we return from Memorial Day Weekend on Tuesday, May 31st.


Please make note of the fine amounts below that have been set by the district. It is important that students continue to take care of the technology that has been checked out to them as well as locate their chargers for the return process. Reach out if you have any questions.

Big picture

Reminder: 8th Grade Families

June 17th, 2022

This will be an evening of celebrating the Class of 2026! We will have a promotion ceremony at Port Susan Middle School from 6-7 p.m. (families invited), followed by a social/dance (8th grade students only) from 7-8:30 p.m. to celebrate their accomplishments. If you're interested in helping out with this event, please contact Port Susan PTO (portsusanpto@gmail.com)


**We Need Pictures**

We'd like to put together a slideshow of memories for our 8th grade students. We have pictures throughout their time here at Port Susan, but would like to reach out and ask that you share any pictures from their time together in school that you have as well. These could be pictures from preschool until the present & the more students in the pictures, the better (5th grade camp, elementary field trips, concerts, sports, etc)!


Please email these pictures directly to aharrington@stanwood.wednet.edu or wholtum@stanwood.wednet.edu by June 1st, 2022.


If you're interested in helping to organize the 8th grade promotion celebration on the evening of June 17th, please reach out to our PTO (portsusanpto@gmail.com) for volunteer opportunities.


August 29, 2022

Incoming Freshman are invited to Stanwood High School for Link Crew Freshman Orientation from 8 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. (see more information below).

Big picture

Finishing Strong

We are down to 24.3 school days left of the 2021-2022 school year. It is important that we continue to look and monitor our academics as we finish strong. This past week, as you know, we have worked to finish our SBA testing. Our encouragement in doing their best, reading quietly as a choice when they've finished, and maintaining a positive learning environment out of respect for their classmates was appreciated.


At PSMS, high quality teaching and learning means that we are a community of learners including both students and staff. Teachers provide routine and structures along with the belief that ALL students have the ability to learn.
Big picture

End of Year Dates & Testing

Upcoming Dates/End of Year:

May 2-20 SBA Testing

May 16 Dance Permission Slips

May 20 School Dance/Social

May 23-27 Square Dancing

May 26-31 Chromebook Collection

May 31 Food Drive begins

June 7 Fifth Grade Tour

June 10 Assist Program Zoo Field Trip

June 15 NO LATE START (full day 7:40 to 2:10)

June 17 End of Year Celebrations and 8th Grade Evening Promotion

June 20 Last Day of School (9:40 a.m. release)

Week of May 16th through 20th

Monday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Lesson


Tuesday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support

Boys Soccer vs LaVenture


Wednesday:

RED Wednesday


Thursday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support

Boys Soccer @ Mt. Baker

Track @ Centennial


Friday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support

Have a WONDERFUL WEEKEND!

Cherae Almanza, Principal calmanza@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crysty Auckland, Assistant Principal/Athletic Director cauckland@stanwood.wednet.edu


Teacher Emails

Dave Austin (6-8 Fitness & 6 Leadership) daustin@stanwood.wednet.edu

Jonathan Bletscher (6-8 Band) jbletscher@stanwood.wednet.edu

Joan Campbell (6-7 Math) jcampbell@stanwood.wednet.edu

Garry Carlson (6-7 Math) gcarlson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Charlene Franck (7 ELA & 6-8 Art) CFranck@stanwood.wednet.edu

Grace Gale (6 Science & 6-8 STEM/Robotics) GGale@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sub for Grace Gale is Anastasia Stanton Astanton@stanwood.wednet.edu

Chelsea Hanson (6-8 ELA/Humanities) CHanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Nate Hanson (6-8 Computers/Digital Effects) nhanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Audrie Harrington (6/7 ELA & 7/8 Leadership) aharrington@stanwood.wednet.edu

Deborah Hepper (6/7 Social Studies/History) DHepper@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sub for Deborah Hepper is Kelsey Huerter Khuerter@stanwood.wednet.edu

Seth Hills (6/8 History) shills@stanwood.wednet.edu

Lori Johnson (6-8 Assist) ljohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Wade Johnson (7/8 Science) wjohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Rebecca Klein (6/7 Science) rklein@stanwood.wednet.edu

Meghan Lawrence (6-8 PBS) mlawrence@stanwood.wednet.edu

Ellianna Martin (6-8 Math) emartin@stanwood.wednet.edu>,

Daniel Mccrumb (6 Math/Science & 7/8 Outdoor Ed) DMccrumb@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sarah Oldow (6 ELA/Social Studies) soldow@stanwood.wednet.edu

Catherine Perry (6-8 EL) cperry@stanwood.wednet.edu

Tracy Riley (6-8 ELA) TRiley@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kelcie Rocha (7/8 Math) krocha@stanwood.wednet.edu

Brad Rochon (7/8 Science) brochon@stanwood.wednet.edu

Connie Schmidt (6-8 Health) cschmidt@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sheri Schroeder (8 History/ELA) sleeschroeder@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sub for Sheri Schroeder is Delanie May dmay@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kym Shoemaker (7/8 Math) kshoemaker@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crystal Titus (6-8 Fitness) ctitus@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kayte White (8 ELA & 6 Cultures) kwhite@stanwood.wednet.edu

Julia Zurcher (7 History & 7/8 Home Ec) jzurcher@stanwood.wednet.edu


Office Support

Jayde Piggot (6 Counselor) jpiggott@stanwood.wednet.edu

Keli Niegemann (7/8 Counselor) kniegemann@stanwood.wednet.edu

Emily Bowne (School Psychologist) ebowne@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kandyce Hansen (Speech Language Pathologist) khansen@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sara Harlan (Librarian) sharlan@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sub for Sara Harlan is Ronda Russell rrussell@stanwood.wednet.edu

District Information

Big picture

Volunteers

As we welcome volunteers back into our buildings on April 11th, we will continue to follow the practice that there are more pertinent times than others for volunteers to be in classrooms. If there are times when volunteers would be more appropriately placed in other capacities in the building than in your classroom, please let your principal know.
Stanwood-Camano School District Replacement Capital Projects and Technology Levy
The Stanwood-Camano School District does not discriminate in employment, programs, or activities on the basis of sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, age, veteran or military status, sexual orientation, gender expression or identity, disability, or the use of a trained dog guide or service animal and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding compliance and/or grievance procedures may be directed to the District's Title IX/Affirmative Action Officer and Civil Rights Compliance Coordinator, Maurene Stanton (mstanton@stanwood.wednet.edu), or the Section 504/American Disabilities Act Coordinator, Robert Hascall (rhascall@stanwood.wednet.edu) Stanwood-Camano School District, 26920 Pioneer Hwy, Stanwood, WA 98292. Telephone: (360) 629-1200.