Panther News

May 2022

Tracy Junk, Attendance Secretary; Amoreana Collins, Head Secretary; Thelina O'Daniel, Principal 503-661-1510

Check out Powell Valley’s Website: https://www.gresham.k12.or.us/pves, or Twitter @Panthers_PVES

Message from the Principal


Dear Powell Valley Panther Families,

We are approaching the end of the school year. It has been wonderful to see the students grow and learn despite the many challenges they have all faced.

We are excited to say that we will have our music performance for grades 2 and 4 on May 24th. Be on the lookout for more information from your child’s teacher as the date gets closer.

The PVES book fair starts on May 16th.

Thank you to everyone who filled out the parent input form. It was very useful information for our team as we begin the work of putting together class lists for next year.

I look forward to seeing families at our PTC carnival on Friday May 6th!



Please sign up for Powell Valley Bookfair!

Here's how it works in 3 easy steps:

1. Click this link to go to our invitation page on SignUp: https://signup.com/go/AACLVTL
2. Enter your email address: (You will NOT need to register an account on SignUp)
3. Sign up! Choose your spots - SignUp will send you an automated confirmation and reminders. Easy!
Note: SignUp does not share your email address with anyone. If you prefer not to use your email address, please contact me and I can sign you up manually.

Counselor Corner

Dear Parents and Caregivers,

We finished our lessons on ways to stay safe, to recognize when something is unsafe, to report anything unsafe to a trusted adult, and to refuse to participate. I urge students to continue to talk to you about the topics being discussed during my lessons. You play the most important role in helping your child stay safe.


The next few weeks, I will be busy helping Grade 5 students transition into middle school by meeting the Counselors at Gordon Russell Middle School as well as meeting with students individually and in their classrooms to answer any questions they may have.

I am currently in my 3rd group of completing an anxiety small group. This has been very successful and needed for our students. I hope to continue to hold an anxiety group for next school year. If you have a student who struggles with anxiety please let me know and I can make sure that he/she is included in one of the groups.


Remember to contact 2-1-1 if you are in need of food, utility or housing assistance or check out their website https://www.211info.org/ to find out the latest information. Additional resources can be found here: GBSD Food Resources. If you receive SNAP benefits, please contact your local self-sufficiency office to inquire about assistance.


Warmly,

Nelia Collins

School Counselor

Collins25@gresham.k12.or.us

Kindergarten Registration Opened March 1st

If you have a child that will be 5 on or before September 1st please register now! If you have friends, family or neighbors in the Powell Valley district with upcoming fall kindergarteners please let them know registration is open! Please visit our website, click here http://powellvalley.gresham.k12.or.us

You will need access to your ParentVUE account and an email address to complete the registration process.

Lost and Found

Hello Powell Valley Panther Families,

We have managed to collect quite a bit of; jackets, hats, scarves and other student items in our lost and found. Parents are encouraged to come into the building after school and take a look at the items. We will put the items out during our connect to kindergarten night, and at our music night. We donate all items to Snow-Cap at the end of the year.


Please contact your students teacher or the office 503-661-1510 if you see anything that looks familiar.

SPL Services Update

Hello Parents and Students,


Our speech-language pathologist will be out on maternity leave through the end of the school year. Students will continue to be offered services from a licensed tele-therapist during her absence. Mrs. Bihler looks forward to joining us again in the fall!


Our contact person is Amanda Kittell akittell@dotcomtherapy

PTC Corner

PTC is in the planning stages of Spring Carnival. It is taking place on Friday May 6th 5:30-pm. We will have games and a raffle. If you are wanting to volunteer for any part of Carnival please reach out via email at powellvalleyptc@gmail.com. We will need help setting up, running games and take down. We will also be reaching out to local businesses for donations for our raffle prizes. If you know of any businesses who would like to help out or support our school, please let us know.




Please join us this Friday, May 6th for our Spring Carnival.

Where: Powell Valley
Time: 5:30-8pm

Cost: $5 per child food is a separate charge

Games, Prizes, Slide, Food and Raffle

Please come out and join us.

We are still looking for volunteers. If you’d like to volunteer, please email us at powellvalleyptc@gmail.com

Welcome back Volunteers!!!

  • Every person with a desire to volunteer for the Gresham-Barlow School District is required to fill out a Volunteer Background Check Form and undergo a Volunteer Background Check.

SCHOOL START & END TIMES

It has been a while since we've had a regular start and end time here at Powell Valley Elementary. Here is a friendly reminder of our times:


Start/End times on Mon, Tues, Thurs, Fri

8:30-3:05 the tardy bell will ring at 8:35.


Start/End times on Wednesdays

9:30-3:05 the tardy bell will ring at 9:35

Big picture

Upcoming events


May 2022


6th - Powell Valley PTC Carnival - 5:30-8:30

13th - No School

16th-20th - BookFair

24th - Music Concert - 2nd & 4th Grade - 6:30-7:30

30th - No School - Memorial Day


June 2022


6th - PTC Meeting - 6:30

14th - 5th grade Promotion - 9:30-10:30

15th - Field day

15th - Last day of school

Please contact your teacher if you have any questions:

Amy Galloway - galloway3@gresham.k12.or.us

Ashley Kelley - kelley23@gresham.k12.or.us

Colleen Kai - kai@gresham.k12.or.us

Daniel Saffer - saffer@gresham.k12.or.us

Doug Robertson - robertson24@gresham.k12.or.us

Greg Kirkelie - kirkelie@gresham.k12.or.us

Janelle Drelleshak - drelleshak@gresham.k12.or.us

Jennifer Cano - cano4@gresham.k12.or.us

Joanna Bihler - bihler@gresham.k12.or.us

Julie Poetsch - poetsch@gresham.k12.or.us

Katie Hanson - hanson45@gresham.k12.or.us

Kimberly McCaffrey - mccaffrey@gresham.k12.or.us

Kimberly Schilling - schilling@gresham.k12.or.us

Marinela Ionescu - ionescu3@gresham.k12.or.us

Melissa Castellanos - castellanos@gresham.k12.or.us

Michael Stephens - stephens10@gresham.k12.or.us

Molly Edeline - edeline2@gresham.k12.or.us

Nelia Collins - collins25@gresham.k12.or.us

Robyn Glove - glove@gresham.k12.or.us

Shane Park - park2@gresham.k12.or.us

Traci Stout - stout@gresham.k12.or.us