The Dutch Revolt


A Brief Summary

It started off as a small rebellion in the Netherlands against the Spanish King Phillip II (keep in mind that he was Catholic and the rebels were Calvinists). The Rebels were mad about the unfair taxation and there was a great deal of religious conflict between the people and the monarch. The revolts were very unsuccessful until William the Silent had his son imprisoned by the King because William would not choose sides between the king and the rebels (he was on the rebel side), and so in turn, William the Silent organized and executed 3 raids which were successful and put the revolt in the Dutch Republic's favor. The Queen of England also helped the rebels which made the King of Spain angry so he spent all of his money on a raid against England, causing him to go bankrupt.

Key Figures

-Roman Catholic King Phillip II (that's who the Dutch Republic were rebelling against)

-William of Orange (the first leader of the Dutch Republic)

-William the Silent (planned and performed 3 successful raids)

-Fernando Alvarez de Toledo the 3rd Duke of Alba (ordered the execution of 3,000 rebels)

-Queen of England (caused King to go broke)

Main Significance

The main significance of the Eighty Years War was to allow more religious freedom and to get rid of or at least reduce the amount of taxes forced upon the people.


-Root: Religious tensions and unfair taxation.

-Direct: Rioting and churches being targeted


The Dutch Republic ended up winning the Eighty Years War and the treaty (The Treaty of Munster) was completed on May 15, 1648. This treaty not only ended the Eighty Years War but it also ended the Thirty Years War.

Mas Informacion

Timeline of Key Events

1566 - Iconoclastic rioting - Catholic churches targeted
1567 - Alva dispatched with 10,000 troops to the Netherlands
1568 - William of Orange attempted uprising fails
1572 - Rebellion upsurge
1576 - 'Spanish Fury' - Spanish Mercenaries sacked Antwerp - results in the Pacification of Ghent where the provinces united against the Spanish.

1579 - Union of Arras - South returns to Spanish fold to Religious differences however Union of Utrecht cements the Union of the Northern Provinces.

1581 - Act of Abjuration - United provinces depose Philip as Sovereign

1584 - William of Orange assasinated, Maurice of Orange takes up leadership
1585 - Treaty of Nonsuch - England aid Dutch Rebels
1596 - Triple Alliance - France, England and Northern Provinces united against Spain
1596 - Southern Dutch provinces granted to the Archdukes Albert and Isabella (daughter) by Philip due to the financial and economic pressure.

Signing the Peace Treaty of Munster

The creators

- Johnathan Wilson

-Kylee Kady

-Andrew Pinedo