By: Connor, Spencer, and Pema

Main Beliefs

The Buddha taught many things, but the basic concepts in Buddism can be summed up by the Four Noble Truths and the Noble Eightfold Path. The first truth is that life is and has suffering, for example life includes pain, getting old, disease, and ultimately death.

Four Noble Truths
-Dukkha - suffering exist
-Samuudaya- there is a cause for suffering
-Nirodha - There is an end to suffering
-Magga - In order to end suffering, you must follow the Eightfold Path


The teachings of the Buddha form the basis of the Buddhist world-view and practice.

The Buddha was born about 2,565 years ago around in what is now part Nepal

The Buddha himself, his teachings or dharma, and the community of disciples or sangha constitute the 3 jewels of Buddhism.

Those who joined the Buddha as mendicant renouncers formed the earliest Buddhist community or sangha out of which later monastic communities emerged.

After the Buddha's death, the community of disciples compiled and continued the teachings.

The heart of the Buddha's teachings relate to human suffering and release from misery. The most teachings of the Buddha are encapsulated in the "Four Noble Truths":

the normal condition of this world is misery or suffering.

2. Suffering stems from desire or attachment to this world that is in its essence impermanent.

3. The end of suffering can be attained by quelling attachment to this world.

4. Quelling attachment can be achieved through following the eightfold path of right views, right intention, right speech, right action, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness, and right concentration.

Who, What, When, Where, & Why

Who: Siddhārtha Gautama Shakyamuni, The Gautama Buddha, or The Buddha

Today, there are between 200-500 million followers, making up 6% of the

world's population

What: Bhuddism is a religion focused on eliminating suffering.

When: 5th Century B.C.E.

Where: Most historians believe that Buddhism originated in Northern India.

Today, Buddhism is found in Thailand, Sri Lanka, Myanmar, Cambodia, Laos, Japan, China, etc, and in some parts of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Nepal, also in the European countries and the USA.

Why: Buddhism was started so that others could reach the same enlightenment that the Buddha had.

Special Rituals and Practices

Meditation: knowing the mind, training the mind, freeing the mind

Mantras: a word or group of words believed to have physiological and spiritual power

Prayer Wheels: used by Buddhists to accumulate wisdom and good karma

Nirvana: is the total calm and stillness of the mind and body

It is said that if you rub the belly of the Buddha, you will have good luck.

The Eight-Fold Path

Panna: Discernment, wisdom
1) Samma Ditthi - right understanding of the Four Noble Truths
2) Samma Sankappa - right thinking; following the right path in life
Sila: virtue, morality
3) Samma Vaca: Right speech: no lying, critcism, condeming, gossip, harsh language
4) Samma Kammante - right conduct by following the five precepts
5) Samma Ajiva: right livelihood; support yourself without harming others
Samadhi: concentration, meditation
6) Samma Vayama- Right Effort: promote good thoughts; conquer evil thoughts
7) Samma Sati - Right Mindfulness: Become aware of your body, mind, and feelings
8) Samma Samadhi - right concentration: meditate to achieve a higher state of consciousness

Most Important Beliefs

"You Should Not Believe Anything Without Thinking"- Buddhists are encouraged to test everything they read or hear, to see if it stands up to their standards as true.

"Meditation is Key"- without calming the mind, and examining their mind's beliefs, they can't reach the enlightenment.

"Compassion is key"- Compassion is the natural extension of understanding and wisdom. With true wisdom they grow more compassionate.

"Books and teachings are very important"- it was very important to them read and listen to teachers, so they can undo their ignorance.

"Healing comes from the mind"- Buddhists believe meditation, mantras, and prayers heal themselves.