HJHS Weekend Update

March 28, 2016

Big image

Every Student! Every Day!

I hope you had a wonderful spring break and beautiful Easter Sunday! Spring is here! While summer is just around the corner, we cannot rush our time away! There is not a day to waste! Our kids have so much learning yet to do! As the lead learners in our school you had an opportunity to learn from Pearson ways to differentiate your instruction. So, this may be the time to implement something new! Keeping yourself interested and motivated will go a long way to keeping your kids interested and motivated! Remember the students will reflect your attitude! Make sure your ATTITUDE is positive and focused on learning everyday!


Dr. Cooper, Deputy Superintendent, and her team came and observed the school the Wednesday before the break. They observed classrooms and the class exchange. I will be sharing feedback to those teachers whose classes were observed as well as the overall picture of HJHS from the District team. They recognized areas for us to grow and provided kudos for good things observed. At our next faculty meeting I will provide their insights and ideas.


Have a great week of learning!


Stephanie

Upcoming Events and Notes for this week at HJHS!

LESSON PLANS SHOULD BE POSTED IN EDMODO BY 8:00 Monday!


We will have advisory this week! Make sure to make it a meaningful time with your students.



Tuesday, March 29: Fire Drill 9:15: 3:15 - 3:45 Leadership Team Meeting

Wednesday, March 30: Faculty Meeting and Data Review w/Christie Finley, Secondary Director of Instruction; Perfect Attendance Ice Cream rewards during lunch!

Thursday, March 31: All A/B Honor Roll Reward during lunch; Zumba after school?


Friday, April 1: All As Honors Lunch during 5th period.



Half-Day PD April 8

Blossomwood Elementary School

12:30 - 4:30

Procedures for Assigning Detentions from January and February

PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU ARE FOLLOWING THE PROCEDURES THAT WERE PUT IN PLACE FOR YOU. THIS ONLY WORKS IF THERE IS FOLLOW UP BY THE ASSIGNING TEACHER.


We have created both Silent Lunch and Afternoon Detentions based on your request for additional consequences for "class 1" behaviors in the classroom.

We have just a few easy steps everyone will need to follow:
1. Parents must have 24 hours notice concerning an after school detention - you may call or send a written notice. If you send a written notice then I would have the student sign a copy or a sheet stating when the detention is scheduled and when the note to the parent was sent home.


2. It is the assigning teacher's responsibility to enter the information on the Google Doc (silent lunch or detention) before the assigned detention AND to verify the student's attendance (silent lunch or detention).

3. If you check a detention list and your student does not attend, then I recommend the following procedure. 1st offense: reassign and notify the parent; 2nd offense: double the detention and notify the parent; 3rd offense: complete an Office Discipline Referral and give it to an administrator to deal with. IT IS THE CLASSROOM TEACHER'S RESPONSIBILITY TO VERIFY ATTENDANCE AND TO ENTER INFORMATION ON THE GOOGLE DOC.

4. If you are in charge of monitoring detention, pick up a radio from Mr. Pressnell in the office. Make sure you have your computer so you can enter the student attendance. You will need to be in the AV room by 3:05. Detention runs from 3:05 - 3:35. There are no tardies if a student is late without a note from a teacher, he/she will have to make it up.

5. Contact an administrator if you have questions.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1MAxroOb12JtL5Q3dC0OweLRzC9lVWy8oB_81yB3yZ-I/edit?usp=sharing

DEADLINES AND DATES TO REMEMBER!

UPCOMING DATES TO REMEMBER

  • Monday, March 28: Teacher Surveys completed by students in ELA classes this week.

  • Wednesday, March 30: Faculty School-wide Data Meeting

  • Monday, April 4 - Tuesday, April 5: State Choral Performance Assessment

  • Wednesday, April 6: PST Meetings

  • Wednesday, April 13: Faculty Meeting - Equity Training

  • Thursday, April 14 - Sunday, April 17: Advanced Choir Trip to New York

  • Monday, April 18: 4th Nine Weeks Progress Reports Go Home
  • April 18 - 27: STAR Spring Benchmark

  • Wednesday, April 20: PST meetings after school

  • Wednesday, April 27: Faculty Meeting/Test Security

  • Thursday, April 28: Algebra I EOC
  • Monday, May 2: ACT Aspire - Writing & English
  • Tuesday, May 3: ACT Aspire - Reading
  • Wednesday, May 4: ACT Aspire - Math
  • Thursday, May 5: ACT Aspire - Science
  • Friday, May 6: ACT Aspire Make-Up
  • Wednesday, May 4: Faculty Meeting

  • Wednesday, May 11: PST meetings after school - End of the Year

  • Monday, May 16: Benchmark
  • Tuesday, May 17: Benchmark
  • Wednesday, May 18: Benchmark
  • Thursday, May 19: Benchmark
  • Friday, May 20: Benchmark Make-Up
  • Thursday, May 19: Spring Choir Concert at HHS

  • Thursday, May 26: Student Last Day
  • Friday, May 27: Teacher Work Day