Ms. Klein's Second Grade Newsletter

Monday, April 4, 2016

This week...

This week we will explore the question "How can you learn about animals that lived long ago?" We'll begin by reading the biography The Dog That Dug for Dinosaurs. Can you guess what the surprising discovery might be in this story? Then we'll read an informational text called La Brea Tar Pits, where there are more surprising discoveries for us to find!


Target Vocabulary: discovered, guard, remove, souvenirs, amazed, explained, exact, growled

Phonics Skills: Words with oo (book)

Vocabulary Strategy: Shades of meaning

Comprehension Skill: Fact and opinion - tell if an idea can be proved or is a feeling

Comprehension Strategy: Question - ask questions about what you are reading

Writing Focus: Opinion writing - opinion paragraph

NEXT YEAR


If you haven't heard yet, but I have been given the opportunity to loop with our current second graders to third grade next year. I am thrilled for this chance to stay with them for one more year and see them grow. When I first started teaching I taught two years of third grade and am excited to be able to teach third grade again.

Math Project

Please remember to be making your math games at home! If you have any questions about this activity please let me know.

Upcoming Black Bob Dates

This Week:

Monday April 4 B Day

Tuesday April 5 C Day

Major Savor Limo Rides during lunch (more info coming)

3:30 District Math Wings Arbor Creek

Wednesday April 6 D Day

Thursday April 7 E day

7:00 PTA meeting

Friday April 8

Spirit Day: Mustache day

BRAG rewards

Next Week:

Monday April 11 B Day

Tuesday April 12 C Day

Wednesday April 13 D Day

Thursday April 14 E Day

Friday April 15

No School/ District Staff Development

Saturday April 16

7:00 Olathe's Got Talent