College Advising Spring Calendar

For the Class of 2017

1. Initial Meeting with your College Advisor

These meetings will commence in mid to late February. Students will be assigned and notified about their college advisor in early February.

2. Register for a Spring SAT and/or ACT exam

SAT: March 5, 2016 | Registration Deadline February 5
ACT: April 9, 2016 | Registration Deadline March 4
SAT: May 7, 2016 | Registration Deadline April 8
SAT: June 4, 2016 | Registration Deadline May 5
ACT: June 11, 2016 | Registration Deadline May 6

https://sat.collegeboard.org/home
http://www.actstudent.org/regist/

3. Visit Colleges

Sign-up for a Spring Break College Tour


Tentative Schedule:
March 18: San Jose State, Santa Clara, and San Francisco State
March 28: California Polytechnic University - San Luis Obispo
March 29: Saint Mary's College, UC Davis, Sacramento State

March 30: UC Merced, University of the Pacific
March 31: University of San Francisco, UC Berkeley, Dominican

Registration for these tours will open in early February. The cost is $75 per day. This schedule is subject to change. Space is limited.

4. Participate in a Case Studies Program

Case Studies Programs are designed to help juniors and their parents learn more about the college admissions process through studying simulated students’ application cases and then making admissions decisions for a fictitious college.

SHC Case Studies Program
April 13, 2016
6:30pm - 8:30pm
[Registration information will be sent in February]

Bay Area Case Studies Program
April 17, 2016
Saint Ignatius College Prep.
[Registration information will be sent in February]

5. Attend a College Fair

San Francisco National College Fair
Cow Palace Arena
Saturday, April 30: 1:30pm - 4:30pm
Over 200 colleges will be in attendance!

6. Complete Naviance Tasks

These tasks should be completed by the end of the spring semester:

  • Complete the Initial College Questionnaire for Juniors before your first college advising meeting.
  • Create and Update your resume and complete your assessments.
  • Ask a teacher by May 15 to write a letter of recommendation.
  • Use Khan Academy (SAT) or Test Prep (ACT) to prep for a spring exam.

SHCP College Advising

Ms. Giulietta Aquino, gaquino@shcp.edu
Mr. Andrew Callery, acallery@shcp.edu

Mr. Ramiro Flores, rflores@shcp.edu
Dr. Ken Hogarty, khogarty@shcp.edu
Dr. Helen Hollis, hhollis@shcp.edu
Dr. Cally Salzman, csalzman@shcp.edu