Federal Court Systems

Three types of Federal Court Systems

There are three different types of the federal court system:

  • U.S supreme Court:The Supreme Court of the United States in Washington, D.C. is the highest court in the nation.
  • U.S Courts of appeals: There are 12 regional circuit courts, and one for the "Federal Circuit," that were established by Congress to relieve some of the caseload of the Supreme Court, and to hear cases that are appealed from the 94 district courts
  • U.S District Courts: The United States district courts are the trial courts of the federal court system. This is where federal cases are tried, where witnesses testify, and federal juries serve. There are 94 federal district courts in the United States.

Three different types of Jurisdiction

  • Personal jurisdiction is the authority over a person, regardless of their location.
  • Territorial jurisdiction is the authority confined to a bounded space, including all those present therein, and events which occur there.
  • Subject Matter jurisdiction is the authority over the subject of the legal questions involved in the case.