All About Katie Heath

My family, friends, and favorite things!

My Story

Hello! My name is Katie Heath. I am 26 years old and am so excited to be in Graduate School to receive my Masters in Early Childhood Education. I hope to teach kindergarten or first grade after I receive my degree. I received my bachelors degree at Appalachian State University in Boone, NC in Political Science. I had wanted to practice law and fight for the rights of underprivileged children. After graduating I became a nanny and realized that my real passion was teaching those same underprivileged children. I am so happy to have finally found my passion!
Big image

Appalachian State University

My Family

I am the youngest in my family and have one older sister, Jennifer. I am extremely close to her and my parents. I grew up in Wilmington, NC where my parents still live. My sister and I moved to Charleston together 5 years ago and have loved every moment of it. Shortly after moving to Charleston I was lucky enough to meet my husband. We have now been married two years. We are also very close to his family. His family is made up of his parents and 2 brothers, Cameron and Brandon. They live in Ellicott City, Maryland. My husband, Aaron, and I live on James Island with our 2 dogs, Khumbu and Abbey.
Big image

Our Dogs, Abbey and Khumbu

Traveling

One of my favorite things in the world is to "adventure" travel. My husband and I both have a huge passion for this and make an effort to go on a big trip at least once a year. Since I have known him we have spent a month in Nepal, hiking in the Himalayas (this is where we got engaged!), a couple of weeks in Peru, hiking in the Andes, and last year we went to Utah and hiked around the National Parks (grad school didn't allow time out of the country!). We are looking forward to spending a couple of weeks hiking around Iceland at the end of this July! We always bring as many of our friends on these trips as we can. I have been fortunate enough to have my Dad and sister come on almost every one of them.

Hobbies

When I am not traveling (or planning a trip), or doing school work, I absolutely love to cook. Cooking is one of my passions and I love to create new recipes. I also love to run, bike, hike, and spend time outdoors. I also love interior design and love to decorate and improve my living spaces. I am also a do it yourself person and spend quite a bit of my time renovating our 1960's home. I even tore out our pink bathroom (it was the 1960's!) last summer and completely redid it. Ever since then I have taken a little bit of a break besides just painting rooms. Unfortunately I do not have any pictures of my renovations on my computer!