3L Weekly News

Week Ending November 13, 2015

Big image

This Week In...

Thank you to Emmie Goldenbaum-Cook and Mrs. Cook, Isaiah's Grandmom, for visiting us and picking out a fabulous story!


Reading:

  • We read a biography titled Roberto Clemente: Pride of the Pittsburgh Pirates by Jonah Winter.

  • The story was about baseball hero Roberto Clemente.

  • During this story, we reviewed vocabulary terms and practiced reading with intonation.

  • We also worked on the target skill: cause and effect and the strategy: visualize.

  • In class, we learned that the cause is the reason something happens and the effect is the result of the action. Additionally, we focused on visualizing the story in our minds.

  • The vocabulary and comprehension quiz is on Wednesday, November 18, 2015. This test will cover the story Roberto Clemente Pride of Pittsburgh Pirates. **Vocabulary can be found in the textbook on pages the pages before the Journeys and my eBoard.


Math:

  • We reviewed place value through the millions and practiced reading/writing large numbers.
  • We connected our knowledge of large numbers to the U.S. Census. We examined the numbers of boys and girls in New Jersey during the last Census. We used the large-numbered data from the Census to compare U.S. cities and analyzed the data to answer questions.
  • Additionally, we spent time preparing for the upcoming week by reviewing decimals and comparing area/perimeters of shapes.
  • The next timed Fact quiz will be on Friday, November 20th. It is imperative that your child is studying his/her facts. We will begin multiplication in approximately 2 weeks!


Writing:

  • We became captains of our writing.

  • Students were given the opportunity to use their writing checklists to help guide their writing.

  • They chose which skills they would work on and how they were going to create the writing. This was a big step and all students did an amazing job!

  • We worked on writing in the moment. This means that students closed their eyes and thought about a specific moment. They thought about what was said, how it was said, and what happened. We learned that writing in the moment makes our writing come to life for our readers.

  • Upcoming in Writing: The next unit of study is Informational Writing. In an effort to help students prepare for this unit, please start brainstorming/discussing with your child about something he/she knows a lot about. They can check out books at the school or public library, watch videos, surf the internet (with your approval) to find out more information about their topic. Mrs. Miller is aware of the upcoming unit and will start pulling books, but I wanted you to be aware since things become busy around the holidays!


Word Study

  • Word Study started back up on November 11th. The WORDS that are attached to the Closed Sort homework are the words your child should be studying until November 18th (Day 6).
  • The next Word Study Assessment will be on November 18th (Day 6).

Science:

  • Our plants have grown so fast we had to unexpectedly pollinate this past week.
  • We will spend more time learning about bees this week.
  • We are almost done with our Plant Unit.


Social Studies:


  • We spent time examining the world and identified the 7 Continents and the surrounding oceans.



Grammar:

  • We worked on adding endings like -ed, -ing, -es, and -s to base words.


Morning Meeting:

  • We shared: what we did over the break, why we practiced for drills and practiced for a Shelter in Place drill, What Veteran's Day means to us, listened to a Read Aloud we all love....Knuffle Bunny, and I shared a funny "Small Moment" story about my grandma and me in Disney.
  • Students chose the greetings this week.

Student Council Activities

Please help us support Student Council by participating in one of the following activities.


Stomp Out Hunger:

-runs October 1-November 22

-donate canned goods

-benefits Mabel Kay Senior Center & families throughout South Jersey

Check This Out!

1. Cause and Effect


2. Language Arts Vocabulary

  • This is general Language Arts vocabulary your child can review. They are words like: analyze, infer, predict etc. It's a great reference for parents if you are not sure what a skill or strategy is that I talk about in Language Arts.

  • It is NOT specific to the Journeys story.


3. Twitter: I have recently started tweeting on Twitter! You can find our pictures via #centralschoolpride, @mlipski1, or @CentralES1 (Mrs. Simkus and Central page)https://twitter.com


4. Time for Kids is great for current events.


5. Online Addition Practice: **look on right hand side and click addition!


6. Moby Max: This is a great enrichment tool for Math and Language Arts. Your child's login is in the front of his/her planner. Students should have a good idea of how to log into this program.

Room Mom Information

Thank you to all of the Room Moms and parents who took the time to help prepare for the Halloween Party. The games/activities, food, and drinks were perfect for the party. It was a blast!

Reminders

Absences/Late: Always include csattendanceoffice@haddonfield.k12.nj.us on all emails regarding absence, early dismissal or late arrival. This email is checked frequently throughout the day.


Vocabulary: Vocabulary for each story in Journeys can be found on my eBoard under the Language Arts tab. The red tabs are sectioned by lesson (example: L1 is Lesson 1 etc.). Vocabulary can also be found in the Journeys textbook or online textbook (before the reading selection).


Strings Make Up Work: Please keep in mind that your child will be missing instructional time when he or she attends strings. Any work that he or she miss will be expected to be made up.


Birthdays: If your child would like to celebrate his/her birthday, please contact me so we can set up a date to celebrate! See my eBoard for more details.


Student Logins: If students forget their Journeys Textbook click this link for the website. Students have logins and passwords in the front of their Agendas. EDM Home Links can be accessed on the website. The login information is also in the front of your child's planner book. My eBoard has additional information on logging in under the Language Arts and Math tabs.

Central Events: November and December

Central Events: November and December


Wednesday, November 25

  • 8:30 am Student Half Day Dismissal at 12:30


Thursday, November 26

  • Thanksgiving Day


Friday, November 27

  • 3:00 pm Thanksgiving Break


Thursday, December 3

  • 8:00 am Central School Secret Shop


Friday, December 4

  • 9:00 am Central School Secret Shop
  • 8:00 am Central School Spirit Day


Saturday, December 5

  • 8:30 am Central School Holiday Breakfast


Tuesday, December 15

  • 3:30 pm Report Cards Available Online Grades 1-5


Wednesday, December 16

  • 1/2 day students,dismissal 12:30
  • PM Parent Teacher Conferences


Thursday, December 17

  • Evening Parent Teacher Conferences


Friday, December 18

  • AM Parent Teacher Conferences
  • K-8 School Closed


Monday, December 21

  • 1/2 day students dismissed at 12:30
  • Evening Parent Teacher Conferences


Wednesday, December 23

  • 8:00 am Student Half Day Dismissal 12:30


Thursday, December 24

  • Christmas Eve
  • 8:20 am Winter Recess


Friday, December 25

  • Winter Recess Christmas Day


Saturday, December 26

  • Winter Recess
  • Day After Christmas Day


Sunday, December 27

  • Winter Recess


Monday, December 28

  • Winter Recess


Tuesday, December 29

  • Winter Recess


Wednesday, December 30

  • Winter Recess


Thursday, December 31

  • Winter Recess
  • New Year's Eve

Specials This Week

Monday is a Day 4:
  • Spanish

Tuesday is a Day 5:
  • Library


Wednesday is a Day 6:

  • Art

Thursday is a Day 1:

  • Gym and Spanish


Friday is a Day 2:

  • Music

Guest Read Aloud Schedule

October:

  • Jennifer Cittadini Wednesday, October 14 @ 2:40 (completed)
  • Beth Wassall Wednesday, October 21 @ 2:40 (completed)
  • Nicole Ventrella Tuesday, October 27 @ 2:40 (completed)


November:

  • Emmie Goldenbaum-Cook Thursday, November 12 @ 2:40 (completed)
  • Mia Levine or Eric Huebl: Friday, November 20 @ 2:40
  • Jennifer Barker Monday, November 23 @ 2:40


December:

  • Stefanie Kist: Wednesday, December 2 @ 2:40


January:

  • Jeff Tucker Tuesday, January 5 @ 2:40
  • Susan Gordon: Tuesday, January 12 @ 2:40
  • Jennifer Grega : Friday, January 22 @ 2:40


February:

  • Robin Landis: Friday, February 5 @ 2:40
  • Dori Shields: Monday, February 22 @2:40
  • Barbara Cavacini: Thursday, February 25 @ 2:40


March:

  • Heather Tucker: Friday, March 4 @ 2:40
  • Debbie Wolschina: Friday, March 11 @ 2:40
  • Shannon Simkus: Tuesday, March 29 @ 2:40


April:

  • Sara Blackburn: Tuesday, April 5 @ 2:40
  • Sharon Dominco: Wednesday, April 13 @ 2:40


May:

  • Mary Beth Smith: Tuesday,May 10 @ 2:40


June:

  • Carol Cox: Friday, June 10 @ 2:40

Star of the Week Schedule

Student and Date:

1. Natalie Sept. 28-Oct.2 (completed)

2. Diego October 5-9 (completed)

3. Katie October 12-16 (completed)

4. Isaiah October 26-30 (completed)

5. Blair November 9-13 (completed)

6. Caden November 16-20

7. Nathan November 30-Dec. 4

8. Eliza January 4-8

9. Caroline January 11-15

10. Bryson January 25-29

11. Vienna February 1-5

12. Luca February 8-12

13. Dayne February 22-26

14. Libby February 29-Mar.4

15. Derrick March 7-11

16. Lindsey March 14-18

17. Diana March 29- April 1

18. Molly April 4-8

19. Liam April 11-15

20. Elena April 25-29

21. William May 2-6

22. Joey May 16-20

23. Christopher June 6-10

Poet of the Week Schedule

Student and Date:

1. Libby Friday, October 2 (completed)

2. Liam Friday, October 9 (completed)

3. Diana Friday, October 16 (completed)

4. Vienna Friday, October 30 (completed)

5. Lindsey Friday, November 13 (completed)

6. Derrick Friday, November 20

7. Molly Friday, December 4

8. Elena Friday, December 11

9. Natalie Friday, January 8

10. Joey Friday, January 15

11. William Friday, January 29

12. Isaiah Friday, February 12

13. Katie Friday, February 19

14. Christopher Friday, February 26

15. Blair Friday, March 4

16. Diego Friday, March 18

17. Caden Friday, April 1

18. Nathan Friday, April 15

19. Eliza Friday, May 6

20. Caroline Friday, May 13

21. Bryson Friday, May 27

22. Luca Friday, June 3

23. Dayne Friday, June 10