Florence Update

September 25, 2015

Dear Florence Families,

It was a very busy and exciting week at Florence Elementary!!! We began the week with our PTA Meeting and Art Night where the students enjoyed a variety of crafts with friends and family. On Tuesday night we oriented our WatchDog dads and got them all signed up to begin the important work of helping us here at Florence. We also recognized our new 2015-2016 Student Council Officers, Ambassadors, and Classroom Representatives. KISD School Board Vice President, Cindy Lotton, was in attendance to share thoughts on leadership and school engagement. On Thursday and Friday we celebrated Grandparents Day! The halls of Florence were buzzing with activity and happiness!!!


We were also blessed to have famous children's author Patricia Polacco here to present to the children. She shared stories of her childhood and how she comes up with ideas for writing and illustrating her books. Her message was of perseverance, appreciation, and acceptance. It was truly inspiring and we were honored to have her at Florence!!



Have a great weekend!!!

Love,

Laura


P.S. Keep in mind that we have our first early release for the school year next Friday, Oct. 2nd, at 12:00.

Patricia Polacco at Florence!!!

Big image

September Character Quality is "Responsibility"

"There is no better exercise for strengthening the heart than reaching down and lifting up another."

Upcoming Dates and Events


  • October 2nd: Early Release 12:00

  • October 5th: Homecoming Parade 5:30

  • October 9th: Report Cards Sent Home and Available in HAC

  • October 9th: Keller High Homecoming

Thanks!

Thanks to PTA's Marci Lasiter and her army of volunteers for an absolutely fabulous grandparents day!!!
Big image

Please see below for some very important links and info!

Lunch Schedule 2015-2016

Kindergarten 10:50-11:20

First Grade 11:00-11:30

Second Grade 12:55-1:25

Third Grade 12:20-12:50

Fourth Grade 11:50-12:20


Parent On-line - Manage your child's lunch account

September Menu

October Menu

Florence Elementary

Laura Lockhart - Principal - laura.lockhart@kellerisd.net

Farah Rehman - Assistant Principal - farah.rehman@kellerisd.net

Angelina Bowen - Counselor - angelina.bowen@kellerisd.net

Leigh Anne Nelson - Nurse - leigh.nelson@kellerisd.net

Dana Shumake - Secretary - dana.shumake@kellerisd.net

Pris Brown - Receptionist/Attendance - priscilla.brown@kellerisd.net

Jeanne Devine - Receptionist - jeanne.devine@kellerisd.net

Georgia Altom - PTA President - georgiaaltom@gmail.com