Iowa Core

Importance of ICC

What is the Iowa Core Curriculum?

The Iowa Core Curriculum provides the details for teachers to make sure students reach Iowa's Core content standards and benchmarks.

What does the ICC do for schools?

It ensures the success of each and every student by providing a world-class curriculum.

What does the ICC offer Iowa Students?

To improve achievement of all students, preparing them for the world of work and life long learning.

What does the ICC offer Iowa Educators?

To expand their knowledge of learning and pedagogy as they develop the content of the Iowa Core into a way that helps them teach for understanding and learner differences.

What are the 5 Characteristics of Effective Instruction?

1. Student Centered Classrooms.

2. Teaching for Understanding

3. Assessment for learning

4. Rigorous and Relevant Curriculum

5. Teaching for learner Differences

3 main stakeholders of the ICC

Leadership, Schools and Communities.

3 Main parts of the ICC

Content, Assessment, and Instruction.

What are the content areas included in the ICC?

1. Literacy


3. Science

4. Social Studies

5. 21st Century Skills

What are the 21st Century Skills?

1. Civil Literacy

2. Employability Skills

3. Financial Literacy

4. Health Literacy

5. Technology Literacy

The 4 grade bands are:

1. Kindergarten-Grade 2

2. Grade 3-Grade5

3. Grade 6-Grade8

4. Grade 9-Grade12

The literacy content area is split into 5 disciplines. What are they?

1. Reading: Literature

2. Reading:Informational Text

3. Reading:Foundational Skills


5. speaking and Listening

The 5 Math disciplines are:

1. Algebra

2. Geometry

3. Trigonometry

4. Calculus

5. Economics/ Statistics

The 4 Science disciplines are:

1. Science as inquiry

2. Earth and Science

3. Life Science

4. Physical Science

The 5 social studies disciplines are:

1. Behavioral Sciences

2. Economics

3. Geography

4. History

5. Political Science/ Civic Literacy

The main components of student centered classrooms are:

1. Communication

2. Understand

3. Reason

4. Solution

5. Connection

5 things seen in a classroom of a teacher who is teaching for understanding are:

1. Make learning a long-term, thinking-centered process

2. Provide for rich ongoing assessment

3. Support learning with powerful representations

4. Pay need to developmental factors

5. Induct students into the disciplines

Rigorous Curriculum:

One that is complex, provocative, and personally or emotionally challenging.

Relevant Curriculum:

requires students to use knowledge to solve complex, real-world problems and to create works to use in real world situations.

6 levels of Bloom Taxonomy

1. Evaluation

2. Synthesis

3. Analysis

4. Application

5. Comprehension

6. Knowledge/Awareness

5 levels of Application Model

1. Knowledge in one discipline

2. Apply in discipline

3. Apply across disciplines

4. Apply to real-world predictable situations

5. Apply to real-world unpredictably situations

the Rigor/Relevance framework has 4 quadrants

1. Acquisition

Students gather and store bits of knowledge and information.

2. Application

Students use acquired knowledge to solve problems, design solutions, and complete work.

3. Assimilation

Students extend and refine their acquired knowledge to be able to use that knowledge automatically and routinely to analyze and solve problems and create solutions.

4. Adaptation

Students have the competence to think in complex ways and to apply their knowledge and skills.

Rigor Definition

Learning in which students demonstrate a through, in-depth mastery of challenging tasks to develop cognitive skills through reflective thought, analysis. problem-solving, evaluation, or creativity.

Relevance definition

Learning in which students apply core knowledge, concepts, or skills to solve real-world problems.