Stepping Into 6th Grade

November 11th - Novemeber 15th

Important Dates and Upcoming Tests

ELA

R1B Determine the meaning of unknown words and phrases as they are used in the text including figurative and connotative meanings using context, affixes, or reference materials.


Key terms: context clues,define,references, antonyms, synonyms.


This week students are diving into getting meaning from the written word. They have discussed ways from which to pull meaning from the text (or other clues) while reading. Ask your student to share those 5 ways with you! We worked cooperatively in small groups to define words and to categorize the examples into the defining category. This definitely took students practicing listening, patience, and reasoning skills.


Reading is such an important tool for all! Please encourage your sixth grade student to read at home each night for at least 30 minutes.


If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:


Mrs. Clark: kclark@fulton58.org

Mrs. Clark: lclark@fulton58.org

Ms. Hervey: ahervey@fulton58.org

Math

Last week:

We finished Unit 2 and took the Unit 2 Post Test.


This week:

We will make test corrections and perform Retakes at the beginning of the week and start Unit 3.

Unit 3 is all about Unit Rate and Percentages. We introduced the concept of Unit Rate during Unit 2, but we will focus on this topic for Unit 3.


Unit 3 ELO: I can use unit rates to solve real-world problems.


Monday: Test Corrections

Tuesday: Unit 2 Retakes

Wednesday: Unit 3 Lesson 1

Thursday: Unit 3 Lesson 2

Friday: Unit 3 Lesson 3


Vocabulary: “unit rate,” “speed,” “pace,” “percent,” and “percentage”



If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:

Ms. Grant: cgrant@fulton58.org

Ms. Lechiara: glechiara@fulton58.org

Science

Unit:

Celestial bodies and gravity


6-8.ESS1.B.1 Analyze and interpret data to determine scale properties of objects in the solar system.

6-8.ESS1.A.3 Develop and use a model to describe the role of gravity in the motions within galaxies and the solar system.


This Week: We will relearn and retest over celestial bodies and gravity.


If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:

Ms. Hemken: khemken@fulton58.org

Ms. Doering: mdoering@fulton58.org

Social Studies

Unit Checklist


Learning Targets This Unit:

  • Student can describe how the geography of river valleys led to settlement and the beginning of civilization
  • Student can describe the advancement of civilization and its legacy


Vocabulary: River Valley, Fertile Crescent, Silt, Irrigation, Physical Characteristics, Legacy, Advancement, Polytheism, Monotheism, Monarchy, Dynasty, Theocracy


Monday: Egypt Project

Tuesday: Egypt Project

Wednesday: Egypt Project

Thursday: Egypt Project

Friday: Egypt Test Review/Catch Up Day


If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:

Mr. Hoskins: jhoskins@fulton58.org,

Mrs. Windmann: ewindmann@fulton58.org