Five stages of sleep and the brain


On average people spend 194,821 hours sleeping in their lifetimes. Most people probably don't know how sleep affects the brain. There are five states of sleep a person cycles through every night they sleep. Some peoples stages gets interrupted which is called sleep apnea, a problem common in people today.

Stage 1

The first stage of sleep is the lightest sleep of the five stages.. In this stage a person wakes up naturally. They go to sleep into stage one and come out of sleep in stage one. In this stage, a person’s brain begins to release slower brain waves which allow the muscles to relax enough for the body to sleep. Most people in their lifetimes experience Hyphicmycleonia, which is a sudden muscle contraction that the brain has manipulated the body of the sensation of falling.

Stage 2

The second stage is still considered light sleep. The brain waves are slowing down as well as the heartbeat. In this stage the body temperature decreases. This stage is where the body and your brain are in the stage of total relaxation. This stage prepares the body for deeper sleep.

Stage 3

Stage three is deep sleep, also known as slow waves. The slow waves are called delta-waves. Delta-wave or delta-rhythm is in dreamless sleep; occurs when high voltage and low frequency. During this stage, the brain releases short burst of long brain waves. If someone is wakened during this sleep the brain would feel groggy and harder to focus throughout the day

Stage 4

Stage four is the deepest sleep of all of the five stages. The brain only shows response in delta-waves. It is very difficult for the body or something else to wake someone up. In this stage, infants may experience bed wetting caused by the lack of control of the muscles when relaxed. This stage only happens for a time period of 5 to 15 minutes depending of age and size.

Stage 5

Stage five is where people dream. This is referred to "active sleep" or Rapid Eye Movement (REM). People’s arms and legs go through a period of paralysis, where your body does not shift from place to place.

Sleep apnea

When the five stages of sleep are interrupted it is called sleep apnea witch is a condition in which breathing is repeatedly interrupted during sleep. During sleep you are interrupted with 10 to 30 seconds of not breathing. To diagnose sleep apnea people have to do a full overnight observation or Polysomnography. During diagnosis, who look for eye and muscle movement, brain activity and the change in heart rate. Some treatments are too loose weight if overweight, sleeping on your side.