Marsupials from Australia

Basic Information

Kangaroos are classified as vertebrates and mammals; more specifically as marsupials, which means the females have a pouch in which to develop their babies. Because kangaroos are mammals, they are also warm-blooded. There are four species that are commonly referred to as kangaroos, the largest of which is the red kangaroo.

Kangaroos are covered in fur. They move by hopping and leaping around.

Most of the kangaroos' predators are now extinct. The main animals who prey on the kangaroo are dingoes and humans.

Kangaroo Island, Australia

Kangaroo Island, Australia - Lonely Planet travel video

The Kangaroo's Habitat

Kangaroos live in Australia and New Guinea. They live primarily in the grasslands and woodlands, where they can shelter themselves in tall grass and beneath trees.

Kangaroos are herbivores, so they only eat plants. They have chambered stomachs like cows, so they regurgitate their food and chew it as cud. Because they graze on grass, they have developed special teeth to help them eat.

Kangaroos find their water from streams and rivers that flow through their habitat.


Baby kangaroos are called "joeys". They are born at a very early age and are only partially developed. When they are born, joeys are only the size of a lima bean!

After birth, the newborns climb into the mother's pouch, where they finish growing and developing. They will stay in the pouch for about nine more months.