Parliament House

Parliament House is situated in Canberra (Australian Capital Territory). Parliament House was designed by Mitchell and was opened on 9th of May 1988. Today one BTN reporters was allowed to have a full tour around parliament house even where citizen arn't allowed to go. There are two houses of parliament The Senate and The House of Representatives. Parliament House contains 4,700 rooms. The building costed $1.1 billion and was the worlds most expensive building at that time. The first Prime minister was Sir Edmund Barton follow by Alfred Deakin and so on. There are many parties in Australia but there are two main parties which are the Labor party and the liberal party The labor party is lead by former prime minister Kevin Rudd and the Coalition party or the Liberal party is lead by Tony Abbott. There will be an election for the next PM on september.