MoASSP Messenger May 24, 2019

Volume 32 Number 34

Since August 1987, MoASSP Messenger has been published by the Missouri Association of Secondary School Principals, a non-profit organization affiliated with the National Association of Secondary School Principals.

QUOTE FOR THE PRINCIPAL'S JOURNEY

"Remember what others have done for you."

MoASSP PROGRAM DIRECTOR, DOUG MIRTS, FIRST JOINED MoASSP IN 1993.

Big picture

IN THIS ISSUE OF THE MESSENGER

  • Memorial Day Weekend Edition
  • Survey Request
  • You, Wellness, & Self-Care
  • 100th Missouri General Assembly Update
  • See who has joined MoASSP for 2019-2020
  • How did Missouri do on National Title II Day of Action?
  • What do graduates and legislators have in common?
82 MO School Administrators Headed to Boston July 18-20

It isn't too late to sign up for the National Principals Conference in Boston July 18-20. Click on this link for more information.

SURVEY REQUEST FROM DR. PAUL KATNIK (DESE)

Survey Request from Dr. Paul Katnik (DESE)

The Community Training and Assistance Center (CTAC) is conducting an external evaluation of the Missouri Leadership Development System (MLDS). CTAC is gathering data from those participating in MLDS and those who are not. They will present their findings at the September MLDS Commission meeting on September 11. Paul has requested that secondary school administrators complete this survey. It will take about 15 minutes. The window has been extended past today.

CLICK HERE TO TAKE SURVEY RE: MLDS

The window has been extended past today.

Update From the Executive Director

Memorial Day

As we head into the Memorial Day weekend and honor our great nation, communities across the country will mark this special day with ceremonies. One of the most significant ceremonies remains at Arlington, where American flags are placed on each grave. Another tradition is the wearing of red poppies in honor of soldiers who died in service. That tradition dates back to 1915. In the words of President Reagan on May 25, 1981,


“Today, the United States stands as a beacon of liberty and democratic strength before the community of nations. We are resolved to stand firm against those who would destroy the freedoms we cherish. We are determined to achieve an enduring peace -- a peace with liberty and with honor. This determination, this resolve, is the highest tribute we can pay to the many who have fallen in the service of our Nation.”


On Monday, wherever you are at 3:00 PM, unite with your fellow Americans in the National Moment of Remembrance established by Congress. Your graduating seniors joining the military will soon share a legacy of service that "crosses generational lines and upholds the values upon which our Nation was founded: service to a cause greater than self.” MoASSP joins you as we honor their decision to serve our country through military service.


YOU, WELLNESS, & SELF-CARE

As a principal, the Memorial Day weekend was one of my favorite times of the year. It usually meant that we had checked off a multitude of action items, including the ending of school. I would get home Friday afternoon and collapse. What a relief it was. Secondary school leaders, you can relate. There is a tendency to move on to the next thing, which there are many. Before you do, reserve time for YOU and your FAMILY. Here are a few ideas to help you relax and recharge so that you are at your very best:



Legislative Session Ended One Week Ago Today

Overall, public education faired pretty well in the 100th Missouri General Assembly this year. Missouri Lawmakers fully funded the Foundation Formula with increases for School Transportation Funding. The Education Omnibus Bill 604 (School Turnaround Act) included 14 amendments. The Legislative Bulletin should come out later today to an email near you. Here is a brief overview:


  1. 1st amendment states that a school may start no earlier than 14 days before Labor Day.
  2. 2nd amendment added allows needs-based A+ School Scholarships to cover dual credit or dual enrollment for qualifying high school students.
  3. 3rd amendment added deals with bidding requirements. The bill raises the threshold for existing construction bidding requirements to apply to projects costing more than $50,000.
  4. 4th amendment added requires DESE to make a school funding formula adjustment to compensate for the loss of school revenues due to the 2018 legislation reducing the financial institutions tax (FIT).
  5. 5th amendment added addresses teacher externships along with an equivalency schedule to allow externship hours to be considered for increases similar to graduate-level coursework on the salary schedule for districts before July 1, 2020.
  6. 6th amendment added pertains to the creation of the Holocaust Education and Awareness Commission and changes the definition of the Holocaust.
  7. 7th amendment added related to student transfers.
  8. 8th amendment added pertains to the agriculture pilot program and the social and emotional pilot program.
  9. 9th amendment added was an amendment about charter school lotteries.
  10. 10th amendment added relates to multiple issues which include: 1) mandatory employment-related sharing of information between districts; 2) training for board members regarding sexual harassment and sexual abuse; 3) compulsory background checks for volunteers; 4) an expansion of individuals who will be considered responsible for the care, custody, and control of students and 5) trauma-informed, age-appropriate sexual abuse training to students grades six and up.
  11. 11th amendment added expands the eligibility of children between the age of three and five to qualify for a district's or charter school's calculation of average daily attendance if they attend an early childhood education program under contract with a school.
  12. 12th amendment added allows a district to use an alternative instruction plan approved by the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education for up to 36 hours due to inclement weather, as specified in the bill.
  13. 13th amendment added was a provision which pertained to transportation hardship waivers for four districts.
  14. 14th amendment added relates to the prohibition of discrimination against "any person" based on a religious viewpoint for religious expression.


2019-2020 Membership Information

It is that time of the year, to renew your MoASSP membership. See below the 57 who have renewed their membership for the upcoming school year. Also, we have three new members to MoASSP. They are Scott Guilkey, Ben Flunker, and Laura Ort. Welcome aboard!!! All three of them will receive either a FREE Fall or Spring Conference registration.


Book Endorsement

I am pleased to share a new book written by our Spring Conference closing keynote, Adam Drummond. I had the honor to read the manuscript a few months ago and found it to be an excellent resource of fresh ideas for principals. See below for more information and link.


School Safety Task Force

Governor Parson has created a School Safety Task Force to help guide a strategic plan for leadership to "better align resources and assist school districts with this critical issue" (MSBA). I have included a link below if you are interested in sharing comments and concerns with the Task Force. The link also has video resources that you might find helpful.


"School Wellness Symposium...Building Bridges Together"

We continue to make plans for this great opportunity for school and community leaders to come together November 17 and 18 in Columbia.


ACT Conference

I have included a link with information for the Missouri Kansas ACT Conference September 13 in Kansas City.


Whether you are aspiring, emerging, developing, or transformational, wherever you are on the “Principal’s Journey," it is a “matter of principal(ple).”


Have a great weekend. You deserve it!


Clark Mershon

Our Newest Members & Renewals for 2019-2020.

If you see inaccurate information, contact Katy or Ginny in the office. How about sending these new members a quick email welcoming them to MoASSP? All new members will receive a FREE Fall or Spring Conference registration fee.


BRAND NEW MEMBERS

  1. Scott Guilkey Braymer C4 sguilkey@braymerc4.net Principal NW
  2. Ben Flunker Parkway North HS bflunker@parkwayschools.net Assistant Principal SL
  3. Laura Ort Scott City HS ortl@scschools.k12.mo.us Assistant Principal SE


RENEWALS
  1. Marci Beckley Butler HS marci.beckley@butler.k12.mo.us Principal C
  2. Nancy Sutton Butler HS nancy.sutton@butler.k12.mo.us Assistant Principal C
  3. Rosemary Camp Liberty North HS rosemary.camp@lps53.org Assistant Principal KC
  4. Steve Cook Delta Woods MS scook@bssd.net Director of Curriculum KC
  5. Edward Tate Liberty HS etate@lps53.org Assistant Principal KC
  6. Eric Arnold Ray-Pec South MS eric.arnold@raypec.org Assistant Principal KC
  7. Tara Bell Lead Innovation Studio bellt@parkhill.k12.mo.us Aspiring KC
  8. Michelle Howren Center HS mhowren@center.k12.mo.us Assistant Principal KC
  9. Krista McGee Center HS kmcgee@center.k12.mo.us Assistant Principal KC
  10. Susan Dudley New Bloomfield J/SHS sdudley@nb.k12.mo.us Assistant Principal NE
  11. Cara Engelbrecht Brunswick HS cengelbrecht@brunswick.k12.mo.us Principal NE
  12. Clark Howell Mark Twain HS chowell@rallsr2.k12.mo.us Principal NE
  13. Jason Keilholz Marion C. R-II HS jkeilholz@marion.k12.mo.us Principal NE
  14. Andrew McCarthy Hickman HS amccarthy@cpsk12.org Assistant Principal NE
  15. Jason Miller Ida Cannon MS jmiller@elsberry.k12.mo.us Principal NE
  16. Matthew Chance Bowling Green HS mchance@bgschools.k12.mo.us Athletic Director NE
  17. Kyle Fisher Harrisburg HS fisherk@harrisburg.k12.mo.us Principal NE
  18. Lisa Craig Stanberry HS lcraig@stanberryschools.org Principal NW
  19. Miller Doug East Buchanan HS miller@ebs.k12.mo.us Principal NW
  20. Beery Johnson Benton HS beery.johnson@sjsd.k12.mo.us Principal NW
  21. Matt Schuler Ritenour HS schulerm@ritenourschools.org Assistant Principal NW
  22. Dottie Stoll King City HS dottiestoll@kingcityschools.org Principal NW
  23. Monica Fulton Rolla JHS mfulton@rolla.k12.mo.us Principal SC
  24. Stephanie Grisham Rolla HS sgrsham@rolla.k12.mo.us Assistant Principal SC
  25. Markie Lampkin Union HS lampkinm@unionrxiorg Assistant Principal SC
  26. Sheri Norman Rolla HS snorman@rolla.k12.mo.us Assistant Principal SC
  27. Rich Parks Salem HS rparks@salemr80.org Assistant Principal SC
  28. Jim Pritchett Rolla HS jpritchett@rolla.k12.mo.us Principal SC
  29. Josh Smith Rolla HS joshs@rolla.k12.mo.us Assistant Principal SC
  30. Lance Amick Scott City HS amickl@scschools.k12.mo.us Principal SE
  31. Kyle Borror Dunklin School District kborror@dunklin.k12.mo.us Aspiring SE
  32. Johnny McMinn Southland HS jmcminn@southland.k12.mo.us Principal SE
  33. Jada Bell Parkway North HS jbell@parkwayschools.net Assistant Principal SL
  34. Tori Cain Parkway North HS lcain1@parkwayschools.net Principal SL
  35. Thomas Dittrich Hancock Place MS tdittrich@hancock.k12.mo.us Principal SL
  36. Maureen Lovette Incarnate Word Academy mlovette@iwacademy.org Principal SL
  37. Michael Nickolai Saint Louis Priory School mnickolai@priory.org Director of HS SL
  38. Rhonda Page Parkway North HS rpage@parkwayschools.net Assistant Principal SL
  39. Robert Payne Hazelwood East HS rpayne@hazelwoodschools.org Teacher SL
  40. Jared Rashford St. Louis Priory School jrashford@priory.org Assoc. Headmaster SL
  41. Mike Rizzo Parkway North HS mrizzo@parkwayschools.net Assistant Principal SL
  42. Jennifer Wilhelm Orchard Farm HS jwilhelm@ofr5.org Assistant Principal SL
  43. Roger Cavener Blue Eye HS rcavener@blueeye.k12.mo.us Principal SW
  44. Randy Dougherty Skyline HS rdougherty@skylineschools.net Principal SW
  45. Chris Grauf Republic HS chris.grauf@republicschools.org Assistant Principal SW
  46. J.D. Hunter Camdenton HS jhunter@camdentonschools.org Assistant Principal SW
  47. Bill Kurtz Camdenton HS wkurtz@camdentonschools.org Assistant Principal SW
  48. Randy Lightfoot Fair Play HS rlightfoot@fairplay.k12.mo.us Principal SW
  49. Tyler Overstreet Republic HS tyler.overstreet@republicschools.org Principal SW
  50. Shayna Peery Republic HS shayna.peery@republicschools.org Assistant Principal SW
  51. Sam Rogers Carthage HS rogerss@carthagetigers.org Assistant Principal SW
  52. Allen Schwantes Camdenton HS aschwantes@camdentonschools.org Assistant Principal SW
  53. Eric Stephens Republic HS eric.stephens@republicschools.org Assistant Principal SW
  54. Matthew Street Pierce City HS mstreet@pcschools.net Athletic Director SW
  55. Brett Thompson Camdenton HS bthompson@camdentonschools.org Principal SW
  56. Christopher Kendrick Mid-Buchanan HS ckendrick@midbuchanan.k12.mo.us Assistant Principal NW

  57. Patrick Tray Fayette HS ptray@fayette.k12.mo.us Principal NE

GRADUATES TOSS CAPS. LEGISLATORS TOSS PAPERS SIGNALING THE CONCLUSION OF THE 100th LEGISLATIVE SESSION LAST FRIDAY.

Big picture

THANKS MISSOURI ADVOCATES FOR TAKING ACTION IN SUPPORT OF TITLE II & FINISHING 2ND BEHIND MASSACHUSETTS

Big picture

The Instructional Change Agent: 48 Ways to Be the Leader Your School Needs

Adam Drummond's book captures the heart of a principal by providing a fresh look at time-tested systems that spotlight the core values of the principalship that will sure to increase stakeholder value. This wisdom-packed book of everyday, realistic, and purpose-filled ideas, is recommended for any principal’s bookshelf. Clark Mershon, Executive Director, MoASSP. Adam was the closing keynote at the MoASSP Spring Conference.

Upcoming Regional Meetings, Workshops, & New Principals Conference Information

Check out all of the upcoming regional, workshops, and spring conference information by going to the MoASSP website.
Big picture

MoASSP Board of Directors

  • NASSP Coordinator for Missouri: John Faulkenberry, Lee's Summit HS
  • MoASSP President: Ed Gettemeier, Hardin MS
  • MoASSP President-Elect: Marc Spunaugle, Lincoln HS
  • MoASSP Past President: Chris Hoehne, Ste. Genevieve HS
  • MoASSP Treasurer: Kathryn Greer, Francis Howell North HS
  • At-Large Non-Public: Valerie Todd, St. Mary's HS
  • At-Large Assistant Principal: Jennifer Strauser, Eureka HS
  • At-Large Middle Level: Jonathan Apostol, Monett MS
  • Kansas City (GKCMPA): Jeff Meisenheimer, Lee's Summit North HS
  • Northwest: Robert Bowers, Lathrop HS
  • Northeast: Scott Daly, Hallsville HS
  • Southeast: Dan Hecht, Kelly-Benton HS
  • Southwest: Sarah Odom, Cherokee MS
  • South Central: Jim Pritchett, Rolla HS
  • Central: Brandon Harding, Cole Camp HS
  • St. Louis (SASSP): Andy Croley, McCluer North HS
  • NASSP Board Member: Kevin Lowery, Lebanon HS

2018-2019 District Presidents

  1. Central Region: Jonathan Petersen, Smithton HS
  2. GKCMPA: Charlie Belt, Blue Springs South HS
  3. Northeast Region: Deborah Hill-Haag, Mexico MS
  4. Northwest Region: Beery Johnson, Benton HS
  5. SASSP: Gary Jansen, Crestview MS (Rockwood)
  6. South Central Region: Kelle McCallum, Washington HS
  7. Southeast Region: Lucas McKinnis, Bernie HS
  8. Southwest Region: Keith White, Buffalo HS
Big picture

Missouri Association of Secondary School Principals

The vision of MoASSP is to serve ALL middle level and high school administrators.


The mission of MoASSP is to improve secondary education through positive leadership and the enhancement of student performance.