The Original Colonies

By McKenna Swearingen

The New England Colonies

The New England Colonies is made up of 4 states Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island & Connecticut. All the people in these colonies came from England which is why it is called New England. These colonies have cattle, fish, timber, shipbuilding, and whaling. These colonies have rocky soil and long winters. They have a lot of timber to build ships to catch fish and whales. Sea food was a big source of food and money.

Middle Colonies

The Middle Colonies made up of 4 states which are New York, Delaware, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania. These 4 colonies have fertile soil and use a lot of their land for farming and ranching. They produce an immense amount of grain that these colonies are called the " Breadbasket Colonies." The population of the Middle Colonies was mostly immigrants from all over Europe.

The Southern Colonies

The Southern Colonies is made up of 5 states: Virginia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Georgia. These colonies have a lot of corn, rice, tobacco, and indigo farms. They also had a big amount of pig farms. The growing season was about the whole year. The climate was warm and they had fertile soil. In the south there was also lots of plantation economies. When the immigrants from Africa came they were put to work as slaves on plantation farms.