Rockbrook Reminder

ROCKBROOK ELEMENTARY SCHOOL'S WEEKLY UPDATES | 04-17-2020

Principal's Message

Dear Families and Friends of Rockbrook,


I hope this week's communications finds you and your family well. Thank you to all of our students and families for their hard work during Extended Learning. Please take a few minutes to review some of the important announcements and reminders below.


Bulldog of the Week - This week we began our Bulldog of the Week awards, which recognize students for getting their work done on time, completely, and to high quality. If you haven't yet watched it, check out the announcement in our daily Rockbrook Update from Friday morning.


Hopefully our weekend will bring some warmer weather and melt off a bit of this snow. A reminder that Monday will be a teacher planning day, but students are encouraged to engage in resources from our Extended Learning Website.


Finally, please remember that our district continues to provide meals on Mondays for all families who wish to access:


  • Westbrook Elementary at 1312 Robertson Drive 8:30 AM - 12:30 PM
  • Prairie Lane Swing School at 3534 South 108th Street 8:30 AM - 12:30 PM
  • Westside Middle School at 8601 Arbor Street 8:30 AM - 12:30 PM, 4:00 - 6:00 PM


Please let me know if your family has any other needs for support as we have district resources we would be happy to provide.

Email: higginbotham.garret@westside66.net

Phone: 402.390.6476


#WeAreWestside - #WeAreBulldogs


Sincerely,

Garret Higginbotham, Principal

The Rockbrook Book Fair Has Gone Virtual

If your home is like ours, you've read through nearly everything on the shelves. Digital books are a great alternative, but if you're craving the feel of paper in your hands or just need a way to recognize the hard work your child has been doing to keep learning going through their Extended Learning, consider a virtual visit to the Rockbrook Book Fair. The Fair will be available online only from April 24th through May 7th. Parents may purchase and books will be shipped directly to your home. Orders over $25 have free shipping!
Big picture
Celebrating Our 6th Graders

Have you seen our social media posts? Check out this short recap of this week's posts celebrating 6th Grade Bulldogs! If you are a 6th-grade parent, be sure to send Mr. Higginbotham a 6th-grade photo, a Kindergarten photo, and a favorite memory.

6th Grade Slideshow 04 17

Raising Cane's Drive Through Fundraiser - 108th & Q

We hope you and the family will enjoy a quick drive up the road to 108th and Q and some delicious Raising Cane's Chicken Fingers! These great Rockbrook supporters appreciate your business and are continuing their give back to the school program.

  • Be sure to say you are with Rockbrook when you place your order
  • Drive Through our Curb Side Pickup
  • Call ahead for larger orders
  • The safety and health of Raising Cane's Customers and Crew is their number one priority. All meals are prepared and served with gloves, masks and screen guards in place at the restaurant, so families can feel safe joining to help raise funds for the school.

Big picture

Extended Read-A-Thon - Keep Recording Your Minutes

ARTSONIA - Your Child's Custom Art Work Products

Dear Families,


We know that many of you use our Original Works programs for special family gifts, Mother's Day, Father's Day, etc. Unfortunately, these orders are currently delayed as is our ability to send in any student art for inclusion. While we will continue to work with this company we wanted to make sure and make you aware of similar offerings through ARTSONIA.


To order from Artsonia, please go to Artsonia.com and click on "Parents" in the top left corner. You will log in with the account you created when you approved Artsonia for your student. If you do not remember your login details, please email Mrs. Johnson at johnson.bryn@westside66.net and she can send you your student's code.

Westside Extended Learning Campus Activities

Note, your child may need to access this site from their iPad and be logged in to their school account.

Rockbrook Elementary Staff Contacts

Garret Higginbotham, Principal higginbotham.garret@westside66.net

Dustin Carlson, Kindergarten carlson.dustin@westside66.net

Ann Miller, Kindergarten miller.ann@westside66.net

Tammy Lewis, 1st Grade lewis.tammy@westside66.net

Amber Whitney, 1st Grade whitney.amber@westside66.net

Jan Kyle, 2nd Grade kyle.janis@westside66.net

Elizabeth Raphael, 2nd Grade raphael.elizabeth@westside66.net

Sarah Davenport, 3rd Grade davenport.sarah@westside66.net

Melodie Rice, 3rd Grade rice.melodie@westside66.net

Jill Conyers, 4th Grade conyers.jill@westside66.net

Michele Madson, 4th Grade madson.michele@westside66.net

Laura Chouinard, 5th Grade chouinard.laura@westside66.net

Lisa Smith, 5th Grade smith.lisa@westside66.net

Camille Akers, 6th Grade akers.camille@westside66.net

Cynthia Warming, 6th Grade warming.cynthia@westside66.net

Jennifer Cramer-Brink, Special Education brink.jennifer@westside66.net

Rhonda Josten, Special Education josten.rhonda@westside66.net

Marcia Manzo, Special Education manzo.marcia@westside66.net

Amanda Smith, Special Education smith.amanda@westside66.net

Lisa Davis, School Psychologist davis.lisa@westside66.net

Hallie Sharkey, Speech Language Pathologist sharkey.hallie@westside66.net

Bryn Johnson, Art johnson.bryn@westside66.net

Cathy Montgomery, Library montgomery.catherine@westside66.net

Barry Glanzer, Physical Education glanzer.barry@westside66.net

Nolan Pribnow, Music pribnow.nolan@westside66.net

Mike Freeman, Band freeman.michael@westside66.net

Viktoria Matheson, Strings matheson.viktoria@westside66.net

Linda Safranek, Reading Coordinator safranek.linda@westside66.net

Liz Langford, English Language Learners langford.elizabeth@westside66.net

Jenny Henningsen, Excellence in Youth henningsen.jennifer@westside66.net

Katie Sindt, Excellence in Youth sindt.katie@westside66.net

Angie Calderone, Occupational Therapist calderone.angela@westside66.net

Carolyn Hansen, Physical Therapist hansen.carolyn@westside66.net

April Anderson, School Social Worker anderson.april@westside66.net

Need a Charger? Other Materials?

Every effort was made last Thursday to send students home with technology and supplies to support their learning from home. We know that some items may have been forgotten, missed, etc. Please reach out to Mr. Higginbotham (higginbotham.garret@westside66.net) if you need help in accessing materials, supplies or support for your child’s learning.

Upcoming Events Postponed

Due to our Extended Learning Format, many of our school events have been postponed. Linked is a list we will keep updated both with postponed events and once we know dates, re-scheduled days and times.

Specials Lesson Websites and Locations

Our Elementary Specials and Specialists have designed several ways for students to access content. Below is a summary list of Websites and Locations. Specials teachers have indicated lower participation than our Classroom Teachers, so be sure you are submitting your work for specials as well.


PE - Website


Art - Website

All Art Assignments are turned in via Artsonia. Check the Elementary Art Website for information about how to make sure your child is logged on. Rockbrook's code is: rrpw-pmnr.


Library - Website


Music - Website


Band - Google Classroom


Strings - Google Classroom


EY - Henningsen - Website


EY - Sindt - Website


PE - Website


Art - Website

All Art Assignments are turned in via Artsonia. Check the Elementary Art Website for information about how to make sure your child is logged on. Rockbrook's code is: rrpw-pmnr.


Library - Website


Music - YouTube Videos (Check your teacher's Friday email for your grade level)


Band - Google Classroom


Strings - Google Classroom


EY - Henningsen - Website


EY - Sindt - Website

Big picture

Welcome to Rockbrook Elementary - Home of the Bulldogs

Rockbrook Mission:

The mission of Rockbrook Elementary School, a diverse community of learners, is to foster learning by providing a quality educational experience within a secure and challenging environment.


Rockbrook School Design Goal:

At Rockbrook we will increase student engagement and achievement through Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports for social, emotional, behavioral, and academic needs.