Federal Court System

There are 3 types of federal courts

U.S. Supreme Court

  • No jury
  • Judges are called "justices"
  • Issues written opinions
  • 9 justices
  • Gets to choose cases to take
  • Requires majority vote of judges to win
  • Located in Washington D.C.
  • Has appellate jurisdiction
  • Has one Chief Justice

U.S. Courts of Appeals

  • No jury
  • Usually has a 3 judge panel
  • Requires a majority vote of judges to win
  • Has appellate jurisdiction

U.S. District Courts

  • Must take all cases
  • There are 13 such courts
  • A jury is used to determine guilt or innocence
  • Has original jurisdiction