Erik Erikison

Phsychosocial Development

The Theory of Phsycosocial Develoment

1. There are 8 stages in this theory.

2. The stages are based by age categories.

3. There is a negative development and a positive development.

4. Once you pass the negative or positive goal you move on to the next positive or negative stage.

Information found on slides in handout.

Example of this theory

Age group: Birth to 18 months (infancy)

Stage: 1

Conflict: Trust v.s Mistrust

Outcomes: Positive- They learn to trust, they will feel hope that someone will be there for them and help them.

Negative- They learn that no one will be there for them so they will not learn to trust and will keep to themselves.

Apply this to our daily lives.

In the earlier times children were considered young adults, it wasn't until theorist like Erikison discovered that child development is different than being in your adult age. If it wasn't for Erik's great findings than who knows how a child would learn or develop the best personality that they can develop. In the 21'st century we use this information to help understand children and help them grow their personality and everything along side it to the best that it can be. We use this psychosocial theory in our classrooms to help our students grow their personality and help them guide through the stages. Without Erikson's research and information children's pschosocial development could have never been the same.